Showing posts with label Stupidity. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Stupidity. Show all posts

Tuesday, March 3, 2015

Papa Bear



There's something profouldly primal about a man who defends his daughter's honor. It's also quite admirable.

Former Red Sox pitcher Curt Schilling took to social media yesterday to rant/campaign against some cyber bullies who, in my opinion, really deserved it. It all started when Schilling posted on his twitter page a heartfelt congrats to his daughter, who had just been accepted to college where she will pitch for their softball team.


 Innocent enough, right? In fact, I personally know about a million dads who proudly post to social media their children's accomplishments. What happened next set off an incredible series of events.

A group of idiots-for lack of a better term-decided it would be smart to post incredibly vile and threatening sexual things about Curt's daughter. Did I stress enough that the responses were incredibly vile, threatening and offensive? They made extremely poor judgements-like referencing Curt's "bloody sock" legacy and then referred to his daughters menstrual cycle and worse. 

Schilling explained that he expected some college boy responses to be like-"can't wait to party with her" and even "can't wait to date her." In his own words this is what happened:  



"In between a fight with Kevin Millar, congratulating Juan Pierre on a wonderful career (just hated facing him) and praying Josh Hamilton gets right, I started to see this sort of tweet.
tweet 3
And tweets with the word rape, bloody underwear and pretty much every other vulgar and defiling word you could likely fathom began to follow.
Now let me emphasize again. I was a jock my whole life. I played sports my whole life. Baseball since I was 5 until I retired at 41. I know clubhouses. I lived in a dorm. I get it. Guys will be guys. Guys will say dumb crap, often. But I can’t ever remember, drunk, in a clubhouse, with best friends, with anyone, ever speaking like this to someone…"

The gang mentality with these complete idiots continued throughout the day and Schilling took it upon himself to terminate the behavior. He posted his thoughts to his blog 38pitches and "outed" the two biggest offenders. 

“The Sports Guru”? Ya he’s a DJ named Adam Nagel (DJ is a bit strong since he’s on the air for 1 hour a week) on Brookdale Student Radio at Brookdale Community College. How do you think that place feels about this stud representing their school? You don’t think this isn’t going to be a nice compilation that will show up every single time this idiot is googled the rest of his life? What happens when a potential woman he’s after googles and reads this?
The other clown? He’s VP of the Theta Xi fraternity at Montclair State University. I gotta believe if Theta Xi is cool with a VP of one of their chapters acting like this I’d prefer to have no one I know in it.”

The repercussions have been sharp and swift. 
One idiot was a New York Yankees employee who has since been fired, and the other a college DJ who was immediately suspended from the college pending a disciplinary hearing. Both organizations affiliated with the perpetrators immediately distancing themselves from them citing a "zero tolerance policy". 

I have to ask, what the hell were they thinking? 

I'm not sure where these two came from but I can't understand how they thought their behavior was OK in any forum let alone a public one. Schilling himself warned in his post that "the real world will hold you accountable for your actions" and I for one am so VERY glad that Schilling did just that. 

Monday, April 28, 2014

I Was Just Thinking....


What a world we live in.

Donald Sterling, the LA Clippers basketball team owner is in hot water over racist remarks he made recently that were caught on tape. Caught by Sterling's alleged girlfriend.

Ooooh boy. This one is ugly. The tapes, obtained by TMZ.com, posted on their website on April 25, 2014, were of an alleged conversation that took place between Sterling and his alleged girlfriend. The argument on tape was about the photograph above, posted to her Instagram account. The photo has since been deleted, but the damage has been done. Sterling's reps have stated that the validity of the recording is questionable and could have possibly been tampered with. OK, if that's his story he's going to stick to it. I'm not sure this is the case but it's possible.

I listened to the entire audio of the conversation and I cannot believe what I was hearing...

The high lights/low lights for me:

DONALD: "Ya, it bothers me a lot that you want to promo...broadcast that you're associating with black people. Do you have to?"
GF: "You associate with black people."

GF: "But not in public?"
DONALD: "But why publicize it on the Instagram and why bring it to my games?"

GF: "What's wrong with minorities?"
DONALD: "Minorities are fabulous. Fabulous."

DONALD: "How about your whole life, everyday, you could do whatever you want. You can sleep with them, you can bring them in, you can do whatever you want. The little I ask is that you not promote it on that and not to bring them to my games."

Here's my thing: I cannot believe that there are actually people that are this RACIST in the world today. The last time I checked, Mr. Sterling employs a team full of black professional athletes and promotes them daily. His alleged girlfriend states on tape quite emphatically that she too is of mixed race. Although she questions him on his statements, she continues to use terms of endearment like "honey" and "sweetie" when speaking to Sterling. At one point she even states that he is in love with her even though she is "black and Mexican".

Here's the other thing. I am not sympathetic to either party here..My opinion of both of these human beings is better left unsaid, but to alegedly lure someone into a taped conversation unknowingly for your own personal and financial gain is deplorable. Yet in today's tech savvy, over sharing world, it's a real possibility. Just ask Donald Sterling.

Somewhere, some how Harvey Levin is so happy he decided to stop practicing law. His pursuit of "justice" has much more meaning today.





Wednesday, March 19, 2014

Ghost Writing


So you all know I watch those zany Real Housewives, as I have said before, they are my favorite guilty pleasure. I watch them all. Much to my delight, Real Housewives New York debuted last night and the antics started immediately. Back are almost all of the women (minus LuAnne) and the fireworks begin when Aviva begins talking about her book deal. Aviva was the one housewife everybody had a problem with when we left them last season, so it was amazing to me that she spent the first episode making amends for her bad behavior and then the second episode destroying all that hard work.

But this post is not about that, per se, this post is about what happened when Carole and Aviva engaged in what is now known on social media sites as #bookgate. Quick history: Carole Radziwill is a journalist by trade, and has worked in the news media and magazine world for what she says is 20 years. She calls herself a "writer", claiming "that's what I do" and she has written 2 books, one which reached the New York Time Best Seller List. Aviva Drescher is what one could call a true NY housewife, who according to Carole, "never had a job outside the home". The second season drama is over Aviva's book deal with a publisher and a lunch between Aviva and Carole where the topic of ghost writers came into discussion.

A ghost writer according to Wikipedia " is a writer who writes books, articles, stories, reports, or other texts that are officially credited to another person." 

Sounds interesting, and if you think so, read on. Aviva and Carole discuss the topic of using a ghost writer. Neither claims to have used one, and then things get hairy. The awkward lunch takes a turn for the worst and Carole takes offense at Aviva's intimation that she used a ghost writer on her first book. Aviva then goes on a gossip campaign, telling all of the other Housewives that "her publishing house told her that Carole used a ghost writer on her first book"  A lot of back an forth takes place, but what sticks in my mind is Carole's objection to the whole topic of ghost writing. Carole has a real point here: she is a career journalist. She has built that career working for news organizations, writing for magazines and working in the field as a journalist for many years. Her books stand alone and her pedigree is impeccable, so I stand behind her when she feels that her reputation as a writer is being called into question. She has earned the right to be called a professional in her trade.

Aviva is a housewife of several wealthy men (not at the same time), and now a reality TV star whose personal story of triumph (she had her leg amputated at a young age in a horrific accident)  is inspirational at best. She was well educated an evidently academic enough to score a book deal with a professional publishing house.

What's the problem ladies? OK, I understand Carole's objection to Aviva telling the entire WORLD on TV that Carole used a ghost writer when she didn't. According to me 'dems is fighting words, and its dirty pool when you try to discredit someone's career. But Carole is not without fault. Because Aviva is not a "journalist" it's not to say she can't become a "writer" and that the idea that she could sit down and write a draft for a book on her own absurd.

Here's what I mean: I have a Master's Degree in Journalism from Boston University. I have this daily blog that I have pretty much written every weekday for 7 years. Before that, I worked briefly writing in local news and TV. Does that give me the right to call myself a writer? Do I need the pedigree of a paycheck from a news organization or a national magazine to lay claim to that? And if not, can I never claim to be somewhat of a writer? What about all those people out there who extensively journal every day, write short stories or blogs? Are they fraudulent "writers" too?

I'm not sure I understand this whole thing. Who has the right to say who a writer really is? I don't deny that hard work and career accolades are definitely constitute a profession. But does that mitigate someone who puts a pen to paper or a finger to a keyboard.......then hits the publish button?




Tuesday, August 6, 2013

Take Your Syringe And Go Home



So while I was in New York City this weekend, (sorry about missing blogging) all the talk was about The Roid Man. New York Yankees big third baseman, who is an even bigger problem, was handed a big suspension by MLB yesterday for failing mandatory drug tests. Rodriguez was suspended from baseball along with 12 other major and minor leaguers for testing positive for PED's and for their ties to Biogenesis of America, an anti-aging clinic in Florida a proven distributor of steroids to athletes. 

There is no question that in this day and age of professional sports, pro athletes abuse PED's to get ahead. The news papers are littered with stories about the down fall of sports heros everyday. So the question remains, is he a moron???

Did he not learn anything from former teammate Roger Clemens rediculous denial of proven PED use or the media circus that followed that debacle. The taint that follows the once invincible "Rocket Man" most definitely enters the room before Clemens does. And no matter how hard he tries, he will forever be dubbed a cheater. He can't shake it and he never will. 

So if A-Rod is indeed the moron we know he is, and he didn't get it with them, he's stil got McGuire, Sousa, Manny Ramirez and countless others all going down in history with and asterisk next to their name. The black mark of the MLB, an asterisk. Maybe the Roid man believes he is in good company. 

He was quoted last night as saying, "if I don't fight for my career, no one else will." 

Yes Alex, because there was NO ONE, not one in New York that was willing to defend you. The general consensus was, "take your lies and get lost." 

True blue Red Sox fan or not, I have to agree.

Wednesday, May 29, 2013

I Was Just Thinking....




  • B's-Pittsburgh Sat night! I'm gearing up for a good hockey game. I think this is going to be the series of the playoffs. 

  • Get this: buzz is that, this tea kettle is stirring up some major controversy. JC Penney put this "Bells and Whistles Stainless Steel Tea Kettle" on a major billboard on the 405 Freeway in Southern California. Seems innocent enough, right? Commuters and people in the area are complaining that the tea kettle resembles Adolf Hitler. Really??? The curved handle is said to resemble Hitler's hairline. Do you see it? Looks more like a Colorforms character to me.

  • You've got to know things have taken a turn for the worst when you get a public lashing from Courtney Love. Evidently Love Tweeted some advice to falling teen star Amanda Bynes on Monday night. "Pull it together babe", Love Tweeted at Amanda Bynes, to which Bynes responded via Tweet: "Courtney Love is the ugliest woman I've ever seen, To be mentioned by her at all makes me and all my friends laugh." Hello Amanda? Have you checked the mirror lately? And if you have "all your friends" around you, why doesn't one of them tell you that you are on a crash course for disaster?

  • Police say this guy...Who is known as "Thong Caped Scooter Man", isn't breaking any laws riding around Madison Wisconsin. Seems he got a little too close for comfort when he rode by an elementary school when the kiddies were walking to their bus. Staff at the JFK Elementary School in Madison alerted authorities that Thong Man was in the vicinity of an elementary school. He was questioned and said it was unintentional, but may have been "poor judgement". Good thing for Thong Man we live in the USof A, because he is free to exercise his constitutional rights. Although some may say he's just a bum....  



Thursday, January 24, 2013

Baby It's Cold Outside


So I built my house precisely 13 years ago. At the time I was a bright eyed, young ingenue with nothing but hope and pride for my new project. I had a great general contractor and a great architect and I was able to incorporate some fabulous design elements into the home. We sub-contracted everything out, so I was mulling over every bid for every job daily. It was a wonderful experience.

Did I mention that I was young and bright eyed?

Ya, cuz they saw me coming a mile away...I'm talking about my Viessman heating system. Now don't get me wrong, I didn't say I wasn't smart, I just said I was young and hopeful. At the time I chose the Viessmann European system, I had done my research. It was the newest, brightest, most energy efficient system money could buy and I drank the Viesmann Kool Aid heartily. When my shiny new system was installed into my fabulous new home I practically patted myself on the back!

If I remember correctly, it wasn't until the second or third year I began to run into some serious problems with my Golden Boy system.

  • Problem: When the temps outside reach epic numbers, ie: -Minus Zero or above 100 degrees, the system struggles to keep up with the demand. And I mean struggles. 
  • Problem: The original guy that installed it quickly went away...he closed up shop and moved to God knows where, leaving me to find a new repair service. Easy enough right? Wrong. I cant tell you how UN-funny it is to have service company after service company tell me, "Golly gee lady, that boiler sure is pur-tee, but I reckon I ain't knowin how 'ter fix it."
Long story short, about 9 years ago I found a company that works with the system. They have only one guy that works with Viessman, and he comes to my home twice a year to maintain my unit. 95 percent of the time I am in good shape, but the other 5 percent is a bitch and only happens when the temps get extreme. Like this past week in frigid cold temps.

Efficient my ass...

Tell that to the pockets of cold areas in my house. 
PT Barnum would have LOVED me......



Thursday, November 29, 2012

Useless Tidbits




  • So there were two Powerball winners, one in Arizona and one in Missouri. Some people have all the luck. I'll just keep telling myself that 500 million dollars would have screwed my life up anyway. Right?

  • I was watching the XFactor last night and I have decided that Britney Spears is either dumb as rocks or on some serious drugs. The chick is seriously off, like really off. Sad. 

  • Seriously disgusted by this story. Quick recap: Young couple from New Hampshire allegedly beat and burned the young girl's 3 year old son so badly that the doctors feared he was blinded. About a week ago they dropped the child off at a local hospital and took off. The child is fighting between surgeries, and expected to make a long recovery. The authorities found them yesterday in, get this: Universal Studios in Orlando. 5 Words: (and they aren't nice words) HUNG. UP. BY. THE. BALLS.

  • Frick told me something interesting when she was home this weekend. She, being a freshman in college, just got to see her old high school friends for the first time this school year over the weekend. She told me that quite a few of them started smoking. I found this interesting because my theory is this: these kids live a sheltered life. Even though they do a hell of a lot more than I think they do, they've probably never been exposed to many smokers. What do you think?


Monday, November 26, 2012

Black Friday Boob



Did you hear the story about this guy?

I thought I'd heard it all, but this one really hit home. Trouble here is, I can't quite figure out who is the bigger boob. Him, for leaving his girlfriend's two year old toddler in his car at 1:30 am while he went into KMart score a 51 inch TV on Black Friday, or us for buying into all of this Black Friday madness.

No doubt, Anthony Perry is a boob to the highest degree. He claims he will live with the guilt for the rest of his life which I find interesting considering he reportedly fled the scene after purchasing the TV and saw the police cruisers and ambulance outside his car. (authorities later found him at home with his TV) But aren't we, society and the consumer public boobs too?

We buy into all this Black Friday madness and create this climate by simply engaging in shopping at midnight on Thanksgiving. Hey, I'm not saying I'm any better. As a retailer myself, I knew I had to make some sort of Black Friday offering to my customers or "live with the guilt for the rest of my life". Business is business and retailers need to stay competitive. I get that. I would be lying if I said that I wouldn't want my own Black Friday offering to create a stampede in my store. But do we/I have to create a dangerous frenzy while engaging our customers in some rewarding retail therapy?

I think not.

Look, there will always be a few bad apples that spoil it for the rest of us. This is a fact. But let's try to keep the sanctity of Thanksgiving by letting Black Friday be Black Friday. On Black Friday. Not Small business Saturday or Cyber Monday. Or whatever the emails I kept getting the week before announcing Black Friday deals the week before Black Friday. I'm exhausted just thinking about it.

I guess we are all boobs and like I always say:
Boobs are just like drinks:
One is not enough and three is too many.


Monday, October 29, 2012

Sandy's Not So Dandy


It seems I can remember a time when I thought living on the East Coast was truly a weather blessing. Sure, we get belted with snow in the long and hard winters on the East Coast, but if you live here, that's what you sign up for. We also get glorious, sweltering summers, like the one I am looking at in the rearview mirror right about now. I also remember, years ago listening to National news reports about frequent earthquakes on the West Coast and severe storms, twisters and flooding in the Midwestern parts of the country. I used to think that stuff only happened to other people. The ones out there. Not us here in the East.

But over the past couple of years our luck has run out. It's like payback for all that good weather karma, and we really are making up for lost time, fast. In the past two years alone, our region has been hit with devastating, severe storms, tornadoes (virtually unheard of in these parts) and ice storms more frequently than  previous history will tell. I, myself, have been affected by long lasting power outages at least three times to date. Last week we even had a "4.5  on the Richter Scale" earthquake.

So it should be of no surprise to me that yesterday, it seemed like there were millions of "Chicken Little's" running around the area, cleaning out the Home Depots of batteries and water in preparation for today's Tropical Storm Sandy. I was one of them. Gone is the warm and cozy feeling of hunkering down for a day off with family watching the storm. The fun has been replaced with worry and aggravation over the prospect of long lasting storm effects and the costly damage to homes. And I'd rather not even think about people's safety. It's not so fun anymore.

Preparing for severe weather has become a competitive sport around here and some become the envy of the neighborhood with their storm prowess. Personally, I'd rather be popular in the neighborhood for my grilling prowess, but who's complaining? This has become our "new normal" and I've got to ride it out and say my prayers. Sandy, please spare us all your wrath. These frequent Tropical Storms are messing with our lives and our livelihoods. Last year Halloween was CANCELLED, and if this continues as it's supposed to, this year is not looking promising either. Have you ever? Rescheduling Halloween?

This "new normal" just isn't normal at all. I pray that everyone rides out Sandy's wrath in safety. May the "force" of storm preparedness be with us and not the force of the storm. Please, not the force of the storm.


Thursday, August 30, 2012

Throwing In The Towel



Ok, so here's something I bet you never really thought about. I know I never did until it was time...

The Back Story:
I moved into the house I currently live in about 11 years ago. When you move into a new house, the operative word being NEW, you buy  lots of NEW things for the NEW house. NEW towels for my bathroom being one of them. Flash forward ten years later: said NEW towels are no longer NEW, in fact they are looking pretty tired and OLD. Throughout the years they became less soft, stained with bleach stains, and here's the straw that broke the camel's back, they shrunk. I know they shrunk because you see that decorative band on the towels pictured above? It is now shrunken tight so that my towels look like they have ruffles on either ends. Accordion pleats on bathroom towels?  Not good, or good looking. It was then that I knew it was time.

I guess 10 years is a pretty good life span for a towel, but they were becoming an embarrassment, to me especially. So what to do and where to buy? Should I go to an off price store like TJMaxx, be a Maxxionista and buy a cheaper brand? Or should I go to a fine department store and invest in a better quality cotton that supposedly will last a lifetime.

Guess what I did?

Invest being the operative word here, because we got suckered into the "better" brand. Good news is, I LOVE my new towels. They are plush and gorgeous and they all match and when I reach for a new towel  form the neatly folded pile in my linen closet, it makes me smile. We got matching hand towels and face cloths (does anybody really use these any more?) and I'm ready to start enjoying them for the next twenty years. Bad news is they cost around $500.00.

Are we crazy or smart? I'll let you know in ten years.

While I pondered the question in my head, what came to mind immediately was this:with all the problems in the world; starvation, global economics, devastation and plague, am I really wasting my energy worrying about my bathroom towels and how much I paid for them and how long they will last.? I'd be better served to just shut the old pie hole.

I'm going to thank God for making my life simple. On this topic, I'm throwing in the proverbial towel.

Monday, August 6, 2012

Who Does That?



Ok, so this is me today.

This was supposed to be a different post.
I was supposed to be giving you a quick blip about how I'm going to NYC today and will not be returning to the bloggersphere until Wednesday, August 8, 2012.

BUT, I missed my bus.

You see, I was supposed to leave at 6:30 and I didn't calculate in the travel time, with traffic, for exactly how long it would take me to get to the bus stop. So when I pulled up this morning at 6:33am and saw my big bus leaving, driving right by me, it didn't feel good.

Who does that? I'm not 5 years old anymore, and it probably cost me more $$$. What a moron I am.

Anyway, I'm leaving on the 9:30 and you can be DAMN sure I will be there at 9am sharp!! SO I lost 3 hours, but I'm not going to beat myself up over it. I'll still get there and get what I need to get done and this will all be soon forgotten. I hope.

Shit happens. But usually only to me.

See you Wednesday bloggers and for God's sake, don't be like me. Be on time....


Wednesday, July 25, 2012

Good Grief America



So the other day, the cable guy came to my house to update my cable boxes. While he was there he checked the DVR service by recording a random program. When I checked later, I noticed that he had recorded the new afternoon program from Good Morning America called, "Good Afternoon America". I was psyched because I was curious about it so I sat down to watch it.


 Being a loyal GMA viewer, this new program, featuring Lara Spencer and Josh Elliot, I thought would be a younger, hipper, extension of the Good Morning America format I have become accustomed to. Boy was I disappointed! 


 I couldn't believe what I watched. To put it bluntly: it was stupid TV. It was all about fluff. Jammed with celebrity gossip, segments about flirting at work, hair tips for frizzy hair and celebrity interviews and even a game called "Marry, Ditch, Kill." which everyone knows is just a PG rated version of the "Marry, F*ck, Kill" game. It was ridiculous. 


Now I know what you are thinking.You're thinking that someone like me would love this new format, right? Wrong. I like a bit of fluff sprinkled in with my news and smart interviews, but this? This is embarrassing. Lara Spencer navigates the fluff quite beautifully, which speaks more to her professionalism than her ease with the subject matter, but poor Josh Elliot. I think even he knows that this is borderline silly. He looks like a fish out of water. 


Is this what ABC thinks women at home want to watch? Do they think the average American stay at home woman is dumb? Or do they want to make her that way? Because this is quite literally the dumbing down of America.

Wednesday, May 16, 2012

So Now I'm Really Pissed

OK, now I'm pissed.  Another Twitter virus???

WTF!!! How does this happen?

Does this mean I'm Twitter vulnerable? I got the virus from my daughter's friend. Her Twitter feed sent me a message yesterday that said, "OMG, I'm laughing at these pics of you (followed by a link)". Last year, the same thing happened and I totally fell for it and tried clicking on the link. I must have tried three or four times, then I started to get the messages from my followers that someone had hacked my account. I changed my password and did what I had to and proceeded on. Problem solved.

This time, I knew it was a virus and did not click on the link. I ignored it. Was that my mistake? Then last night, I got another message from my daughter's friend that said, "Someone is saying terrible things about you (followed by a link)".  Even though I didn't click the link this time, my followers still got the virus. WTF??? How annoying. I have since deleted all the messages, changed my password, but I want to know how it got into my account. Now I'm a Twitter hazard, since it's happened twice.

How do I protect against this happening again? I mean, I use my Twitter for business and today one of my favorite clients emailed me and asked me personally if I knew who it was that was saying bad things about her. I immediately explained to her that it was a virus and that I was sorry for the inconvenience, but that can't be good for business.

Any advice? I'm so pissed.

Friday, March 9, 2012

What The?

Hey bloggers! It's Friday and over here at The Daily Dandy that usually means a fun and frivolous send off to the weekend. Not today.

Today I am turning the tables and taking a completely serious tone with the topic. I read about this and I'm shocked at how modern technology has turned something as innocent and pure as cinnamon into a what could be a lethal substance.

I'm talking about the viral craze called the "Cinnamon Challenge". Crazy? For sure.

The Cinnamon Challenge is dangerous and absurd. Defined as a "dare game", the participant's challenge is to swallow 1 teaspoon of pure cinnamon without water and without inhaling or vomiting for one minute. The result is a viral world of Youtube video posts with people coughing out enormous bursts of brown smoke. In some cases the coughing is so severe, the participant has extreme difficulty catching their breath. And asthmatics? Forget about it.

I found this little tidbit while trolling the interwebs:

"To understand the potency of cinnamon, ponder this: Cinnamaldehyde, the organic compound that gives the spice its distinctive flavor, is used as a pesticide and fungicide. It’s strong enough to kill little things, for heaven’s sake. The EPA warns of acute dermal toxicity; acute oral toxicity; eye irritation; dermal irritation and dermal sensitization. Granted, this is just a component of cinnamon used in concentration, but still, this demure seasoning clearly has a wicked side."


Judge for yourself this Jackass prank that seems to be sweeping our youth. By posting this I am in no way endorsoing this challenge. You gotta see this to believe it because it's really sad.

Have a great weekend bloggers. Try not to huff anything.


Wednesday, January 25, 2012

Business As Usual


I fell asleep on the sofa during the State of The Union last night. I might have even been snoring, a little.


Melissa McCarthy was nominated for an Academy Award for her role in Bridesmaids. I'm so pumped for her because she definitely stole the show. How's about we celebrate? I say Fight Club and we beat the shit out of her!


I read an article in the paper today about Kelly Clarkson and then Kellie Pickler sang a song on Good Morning America while I was on the Elliptical (I liked it too!) then Carrie Underwood's face was on the back of my US Weekly magazine in my kitchen. I swear to you, I even thought about dedicating a whole post to it. Which Idol will be flashed before my eyes today? Talk about a powerful machine.


Been watching the show "Person Of Interest" on CBS. Jim Caviezel..Yummy. Wasn't he Jesus in Mel Gibson's "Passion of Christ"? Lusting after Jesus? If that's wrong I don't wanna be right.

Planning a party for Frick. She's graduating from high school, ya know. That makes me officially old. But I don't want to think about that now. I'll think about that tomorrow.

Friday, December 9, 2011

The Scales Of Justice Aren't Always Balanced

So I've got this story I've been dying to share with you, that has made national headlines recently, and I want to know what you think.

Here's the situation:

Two Massachusetts high schools, Cathedral High School and Blue Hills Regional Technical School, were competing this past weekend in a season ending Super Bowl Championship game.

Cathedral senior quarterback, Matthew Owens, rushed for the go-ahead touchdown to cap off what would have been an undefeated season and Cathedral's first ever Super Bowl victory.

On his way to the goal line, Matthew "raised his arm for two strides" before crossing into the end zone, untouched, and scored the game winning TD, with almost no time left. All sounds great, right?
Wrong, because no more than 5 seconds later the touchdown was nullified by the referee, citing a new Massachusetts Interscholastic Athletic Association rule that, "bans any celebratory or taunting behavior by someone scoring a touchdown." The rule, just instated this year, not only nullified the touchdown, but resulted in a loss for Cathedral, 16-14.

I'm going to post the play for you to see and decide for yourself. Was this "un-sportsman like and taunting, or was this a blatant abuse of power?"



Many people here feel that the ruling should be overturned, but the MIAA said in a statement to the press that "there is no provision in it's rules to overturn an official's call after the game is over".

What do you think?

Thursday, November 10, 2011

I Was Just Thinking....



What the hell is wrong with this world?


My morning paper is filled with tawdry and tragic tales of sex crimes. Are people really that stupid? Lets talk first about legendary Penn State Football Coach Joe Paterno. While the facts on this case seem solid, the details are wherein the devil lies. Literally. What a horrid mess of details. Coach Paterno's former assistant, Jerry Sandusky has been charged with 8 counts of sexual molestation with boys in 15 years.


In 2002, Mike Queary, came to Paterno to report seeing Sandusky in the showers with a 10 year old boy. At that time Patreno took the matter to athletic director Tim Curley and vice president Gary Schultz. All three of them are jobless today and dishonestly discharged from their respective careers. At 84, this legendary role model disgraced his name by taking a play directly from the Catholic church's play book; shut up and make it go away. Maybe Bernard Law and Joe Paterno can now become Penn pals, complete pun intended.


Then there's Cain. Herman Cain has taken a play directly out of the Bill Clinton playbook and is playing the adamant denial game. Now this is a little something I know about. Liars always believe their own lies. After a while they are so convinced of their innocence that they will go to great lengths to convince you and themselves of it. But it never pans out and karma is a bitch who will never let you forget. One woman interviewed in the Boston Herald said, "Herman Cain is a sociopath. You can catch them doing something on video and they'll deny they were even on the planet." My point exactly. And this guy want to run for President? These are not adulterous charges, these are titilating and scandalous charges by multiple women.


Then there's this doosey: A woman in Attleboro, MA stands accused of forcing her 10 year-old daughter, crying, to stand naked in front of her computer web cam so a "photographer" could measure her body type for a bikini shoot. Seems this 41 year-old mother was shopping around for a modeling gig for herself on the internet when she received a Facebook message from a man claiming to be from a Florida photography firm. She then sent pictures of her naked breasts to him and told him about her 10 year-old daughter.


"John" then told her he had a client who wanted to do a bikini shoot with a mother and daughter. The planned a Skype conversation with "John", who explained that his camera was broken, which is why the mother and daughter couldn't see him. The mother then had her crying daughter strip naked and pose in front of the camera for about 15 minutes. "John" was arrested in Iowa after the mother's sister tipped off police. She told authorities that "John" had offered the mother $20,000.00 for her and her daughter to come to Florida for the shoot.


I'll say it again, are people really that stupid? What the hell is wrong with this world? Sex and scandal and stupidity.


That's a daily trifecta that has no winners.



Tuesday, November 1, 2011

Five Hundred Twenty-five Thousand Six Hundred Minutes




"Five hundred twenty-five thousand Six hundred minutes,

Five hundred twenty-five thousand Moments so dear.

Five hundred twenty-five thousand Six hundred minutes

How do you measure, measure a year?"


If you're Kim Kardashian you don't measure it in love, you measure it in money. It only lasted 72 days. 72 days was too long for Kimmy to be out of the spotlight so she created another bombshell to drop on the world. No biggie,. cuz life goes on in the Kardashian clan like nothing ever happened. Onto the next big thing.



"In daylights, in sunsets, in midnights

In cups of coffee

In inches, in miles, in laughter, in strife.

In five hundred twenty-five thousand Six hundred minutes

How do you measure

A year in the life?"



A loaf of bread lasts longer in my freezer than their marriage lasted. I have mold in my refrigerator older than 72 days, (not really, but you get my point) and it takes far more than 10 weeks/72 days to shoot an entire season of "Keeping up with the Kardashians". That, being the same "brand" they fought so diligently to protect. Now the experts are predicting that the public will feel "duped" by the sham that was their "over the top", lavish $10 million dollar wedding.


Sources have reported that between the wedding, the ring, and the deal with People Magazine and Us Weekly for the photos, Kimmy pocketed over $18 million for the entire scam. A mere $250,000.00 per day of their doomed union. Not a bad gig.


How about love? How about love?

How about love?

Measure in love Seasons of love.


Kim's not letting a minor divorce keep her down. She is already back to business hosting parties in NYC, going to Australia to launch her new handbag line then landing in Atlanta for her first major acting gig in Tyler Perry's appropriately titled move, "The Marriage Councelor". For Kim Kardashian every season is a season of loving herself.


And who said she is unlucky in love?

Thursday, September 1, 2011

I Was Just Thinking...

This guy is a pathetic figure.

Jennifer Lopez's estranged husband, Marc Anthony, felt the need to conduct a televised, prime time interview to explain that his marriage "just ran it's course", and that there was no infidelity.
I'm not sure I really believe him or I really care. It's a toss up. The guy is a serial adulterer. He left his pregnant wife for JLo and karma's a bitch. Also, rumors are swirling that he is having an affair with Jada Pinkett Smith. Another home wrecked by the king of salsa.

The guy's got some kahuna's, though, I'll give him that. JLo's publicity machine is cranking out the bad press for Marc Anthony daily so that she comes out of this smelling like a rose and keeps her crown as American Idol's princess. I guess a Nightline ABC News Interview to tell "his side of the story" is a good move. Score Marc Anthony 1 on his side.




I got an email from US Weekly today that read:

Exclusive: Watch Kim Kardashian, Kris Humphries Make Out on Honeymoon


I ask you who's the bigger idiot? Them or me? For publicising their honeymoon or me for actually opening the email? Ugh,





I am guilty of being addicted to Gilt Groupe. Daily, I get an email update that informs me of some fabulous sale on some fabulous designer goods that I must look at and buy. Of course, everything is sold at 60-40% off retail prices, so do you blame me? I look at it this way, I could have much worse addictions. One's that could destroy my life with complications and serious illness.



So I like to look good? Is that such a crime?





Did I hear that Elisabetta Canalis, George Clooney's ex-girlfriend is a new cast member of "Dancing With The Stars"? Now I see exactly why George dumped her like a hot potato. Fame seeker, much? George don't play that game. She totally just jumped shark....


Also in the cast: Chaz Bono. I may just have to tune in to check that hot mess out.


Rob Kardashian. Cuz there's not enough of them in the press to keep them relevant.


Nancy Grace: The shark's are circling....She's gonna jump!



Oh Lord.



It's a good thing I'm perfect.