Showing posts with label Stupid. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Stupid. Show all posts
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Spirit Animal
I'm not one to buy into all that Facebook crap about being a super fan of the Brady Bunch and who your Disney princess is. But one night my friend and I were talking about your spirit animal and what that means.
So I googled it and took the quiz.
What did I find out? I found out that I was the Wolf. Sounded reasonable because it tells me that the wolf has a "stealth hunting ability as well as strength and stamina". Family comes first, says the wolf, who forms deep connections with close friends and family members. Also very true. The Wolf is loyal, devoted and passionate which is also me. OK-so I decide to blog about the spirit animal today and I pull up the quiz to read about the Wolf.
Then what do I do? You guessed it? I freakin took the quiz again.
I got the swan. Huh? I'm not the wolf? I think it's a mistake although the Swan spirit animal has attributes I can relate to. So I Google another, different quiz and I get the Tiger. WTF? Which am I? Now I'm confused as shit because the Tiger also has spirit animal qualities that are totally me. I take it again, because determination is one of my many qualities. This time I get the Wolf. The wolf has 2x going for it.
Now my friend stops by and takes the quiz after I tell him about the mix up. What happens? He gets the Owl. I tell him to take the other quiz to see if it's all a scam, and he gets the Owl again. Now I'm pissed! I make him take it one more time and BAM...he gets the Owl. 3x he's the Owl and he wins the consistency quota.
So I decide to take it again...Bad decision because now I get the Owl! It must be wrong so I walk away from it for an hour or so...Then I take it again...and I get the Owl AGAIN. Now I've decided that it's all a scam and what the hell do I care about a stupid animal quiz?
Bottom line? I'm the Wolf with Owl tendencies since I got them both 3X.
OK? So now we can all go back to our regularly scheduled lives.
Aren't you glad I figured that out?
Monday, September 22, 2014
#DerekJeter
Derek Jeter is a class act.
I said it in a public forum as a true blue Red Sox Fan. And I meant it.
Derek Jeter, at the age of 40, is enjoying his swan song in the MLB which comes to an end this weekend. Since the Yankees nor the Red Sox will be vying for the post-season, it's somewhat romantic that Derek Jeter's last game as a major league baseball player will take place at Fenway Park. There has been so much hype surrounding the Jeter retirement that even Jeter is somewhat humbled by it. From the commercials, to the social media hashtag campaigns to his number on the sleeve of the Yankee's uniforms, it's hard to not get caught up in the whole Derek Jeter is a God thing. And I live in Red Sox nation.
I mean, he can't help it if he played for the wrong team his entire career, right?
So here's my dilemma:
I had a conversation with my BFF's about Jeter and the hype. One of them asked if we thought it was ok to wear a Derek Jeter shirt. Discussions ensued, and our conclusion was that yes, it's ok to wear a Derek Jeter shirt.
Just not in public.
Here in Boston.
Ever.
I might of even bought into all the hype and said yes when my friend inquired if I wanted a Derek Jeter t-shirt. (she lives in Manhattan)
So tonite that same BFF-who is a staunch Red Sox fan-who lives in NYC and is visiting me this weekend-is going to Yankee Stadium and texted me to ask what kind of Jeter shirt I want. All of a sudden, the thought makes me feel funny.
Like I can't do it.
Like how could I ever wear it?
Like ever?
Like this is so stupid.
So I have until 7pm tonite to make my decision.
Bloggers you have to help me., What should I do????
Comment here-or on Facebook-Instagram and visit the poll on my sidebar here and vote.
HELP!!!
Labels:
Baseball,
Boston,
Derek Jeter,
Dilema,
Help,
Poll,
Red Sox,
Retirement,
Sports,
Stupid,
The Evil Empire
Monday, April 28, 2014
I Was Just Thinking....
What a world we live in.
Donald Sterling, the LA Clippers basketball team owner is in hot water over racist remarks he made recently that were caught on tape. Caught by Sterling's alleged girlfriend.
Ooooh boy. This one is ugly. The tapes, obtained by TMZ.com, posted on their website on April 25, 2014, were of an alleged conversation that took place between Sterling and his alleged girlfriend. The argument on tape was about the photograph above, posted to her Instagram account. The photo has since been deleted, but the damage has been done. Sterling's reps have stated that the validity of the recording is questionable and could have possibly been tampered with. OK, if that's his story he's going to stick to it. I'm not sure this is the case but it's possible.
I listened to the entire audio of the conversation and I cannot believe what I was hearing...
The high lights/low lights for me:
DONALD: "Ya, it bothers me a lot that you want to promo...broadcast that you're associating with black people. Do you have to?"
GF: "You associate with black people."
GF: "But not in public?"
DONALD: "But why publicize it on the Instagram and why bring it to my games?"
GF: "What's wrong with minorities?"
DONALD: "Minorities are fabulous. Fabulous."
DONALD: "How about your whole life, everyday, you could do whatever you want. You can sleep with them, you can bring them in, you can do whatever you want. The little I ask is that you not promote it on that and not to bring them to my games."
Here's my thing: I cannot believe that there are actually people that are this RACIST in the world today. The last time I checked, Mr. Sterling employs a team full of black professional athletes and promotes them daily. His alleged girlfriend states on tape quite emphatically that she too is of mixed race. Although she questions him on his statements, she continues to use terms of endearment like "honey" and "sweetie" when speaking to Sterling. At one point she even states that he is in love with her even though she is "black and Mexican".
Here's the other thing. I am not sympathetic to either party here..My opinion of both of these human beings is better left unsaid, but to alegedly lure someone into a taped conversation unknowingly for your own personal and financial gain is deplorable. Yet in today's tech savvy, over sharing world, it's a real possibility. Just ask Donald Sterling.
Somewhere, some how Harvey Levin is so happy he decided to stop practicing law. His pursuit of "justice" has much more meaning today.
Labels:
Celebrities,
People Are Stupid,
Race,
Scandal,
Social Change,
Social Media,
Sports,
Stupid,
Stupidity
Thursday, January 23, 2014
Baby, Baby, Baby, OH!
Big news on the radio as I was driving to work today. Evidently he was drag racing his yellow Lambo while under the influence of something. The press is having a field day with this latest infraction. It's like the vultures are circling now waiting for his demise.
I say not smart ever-especially when you're Justin Bieber.
BUT-really? Big news? Ya maybe if you're TMZ or E! but broadcasting live on every news channel? This is really not hard news worthy enough to have his mug shot streaming over the AP. Here's the thing...
He's 19! The kid is 19 years old and has lived a lifetime already. Tons of money and lived a pampered life. The life of a rock star who can pretty much do anything he wants to pretty much any day. But he's still a kid. Listen, I'm not condoning drag racing while you're hopped up on something but I get that a 19 year old would.
My nephew got arrested for drag racing at about the same age in Small Town, USA- I don't recall his mug shot plastered all over the AP. Or the local PTO meeting either, and believe me, those suburban moms can talk... They didn't because either their kids did it too or they came dangerously close. Too close.
It just proves that The Biebs, while being the biggest pop star on the planet, is still just a kid. A boy who likes his toys. It just so happens that he can afford the best.
Yes, it's extremely dangerous.
Yes, it's foolish and childish.
And yes, it's not how a role model should behave. Ever.
But it doesn't warrant the "bring down the Biebs" campaign that the press has been waging.
Maybe all that's warranted here is a time out. His mom should ground him for a month and take his keys away. Done.
Just like every other parent of a 19 year old in the good old U S of A.
Labels:
Arrested,
Celebrities,
Duh,
I Was Just Thinking,
Justin Bieber,
My Opinion,
Oops,
Really?,
Stupid
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)



