Showing posts with label Misc.. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Misc.. Show all posts

Wednesday, July 29, 2015

WTF Wednesday


WTF NFL? ...Can we all please move. the. F. ON?? This whole Deflategate thing has been the most drawn out, over publicized and over analyzed thing EVER. Not sure why the NFL decided it wants to put the screws to Brady and dig it's heels in on this one. Whether he lied or not..it's freaking air pressure in a ball...it's not like he beat his wife or anything.

WTF Apple Watch?...What do you mean you don't work autonomously without the iPhone present? Really? Like you can't do every single thing the iPhone can by yourself? Completely free of one's cellular device? What if I want to run on the treadmill without my phone and listen to my music? What if I want to check an email or text while "unplugging" from my cell? What a rip off.

WTF Windows 10?...What ever happened to 9? I got lost somewhere between 8 and 9.  

WTF Summer Cold?....My Guy and I have a horrid summer cold. Mine is all in my head. Sinus pressure, congestion, runny nose, watery eyes. I have been down for 3 days too!! My guy has it all in his chest. A summer cold is the worst.

WTF Ben Affleck?....Cheated? Seriously? And with the nanny? Ok, everybody knows that Ben is my homeboy and all, being from Boston, but cheating with the nanny is a little too sinister for me. Good for Ben he's adamantly denying it-even threatening legal action.

WTF Weather?....I can't really complain about super hot and humid weather, can I? I'd much rather be complaining about this weather than the polar opposite. So I'm just going to take this hot, sticky and unusually uncomfortable hot weather and shut the F up. Ok?

Oh yeah, and today is National Lipstick Day! So go on over to that sidebar over to the right and click on the link to my store...treat yourself to a celebratory lipstick!


Monday, March 9, 2015

Monday Minutia


  • Saw a post on FB that cracked me right up. It said, "If Mondays were shoes, they'd be Crocs"


  • And on that note, the funniest thing I ever saw on Twitter was a tweet from a dude who said, "Whoever just left me a voice mail, could you send me a text and let me know if I should listen to it?" 

  • So all the weather people here are foaming at the mouth over the fact that we need 2" more of snow to break the record for the snowiest winter ever. I'm thinking, really? Tell that to the thousands of us here dealing with ice dam damage and seasonal depression..

  • I'm almost finished with the 3rd season of "Breaking Bad". Why did I never watch this show when everyone was telling me I had to? I'm now obsessed! This is the greatest thing on television! I love the whole dynamic between Aaron Paul and Bryan Cranston. And Aaron Paul's, " Yo, where's my money?...Bitch!" Interesting to note: "Breaking Bad" is in the Guinness Book of World Records as the Highest Rated TV Series.


  • The Boston Herald reported that My Tommy is thinking that after he retires from football, he may go the Hollywood way, via an acting career. I say whatever My Tommy is selling...I'm buying.
Sheer perfection...I'd pay to watch him recite the alphabet.


Wednesday, November 5, 2014

Overheard On The Elliptical This Morning

Thanks GMA

  • Keith Urban-not a fan: The dude couldn't even draw a major crowd in his hometown of Nashville for a free concert on Good Morning America this morning. Granted it was pouring, but I'm pretty sure Taylor Swift could have filled the place and caused a major stir in the same spot under the same conditions. 
  • Rock The Vote #turnoutforwhat: Love Lil John! Loved him on the Celebrity Apprentice years ago and continue to love this guy. He turned his smash hit  into an anthem for voting. Great message-Hollywood appeal style. Dude even jumped a plane to Atlanta from LA to vote in his home district after his request for an absentee ballot went unanswered. Check out this video.



  • Foodies Rejoice: People who follow a diet regimen regularly and make healthy food choices spend 33% LESS on food yearly. This will make my American Express card very happy! Sounds like a good argument to eat healthier. 
  • I'm A Joan Ranger: Kathy Griffin has confirmed that she was offered Joan River's position on "Fashion Police" after Joan's death in September as the show's host. Kathy made the following statement: ""They did offer it to me," Griffin told Access Hollywood. "I don't know if the situation is correct at this time for me or right for me at this time."  I'm not sure the show will make it without Joan, Kathy Griffin or not. There was nobody like Joan. 
  • Democracy at it's finest:Whether your political agenda was furthered yesterday or not, we as a country demonstrated the great democratic process. Way to go America!

Monday, July 21, 2014

Monday Minutia



  • First things first Bloggers! I am going to NYC with Frick today-to return tomorrow night-so I will be away from the Bloggersphere tomorrow, Tuesday July 22, 2014. I thought you'd like to know rather than me say nothing....Considering I was with Frack last Monday and Tuesday in High Point, NC, I'd like to think I am one lucky mama to be able to spend some one-on-one time, alone with each of my kids! Frick's NYC visit is strictly business too! My kids are killing me-becoming adults so fast...

  • Interesting things going on here in Beantown-Market Basket, one of the most successfully run, independently owned supermarket chains in the country, is seeing an unprecedented stand of unity for it's former CEO. The company, run by the Demoulas family, operates 71 stores in two states. Long time CEO Arthur T. Demoulas was ousted last fall by the Board of Directors in favor of his cousin and chief rival, Arthur S Demoulas. The two have clashed over how to operate the business started by their grandfather.  The employees are not happy about this. They have staged a strike and  walked out on the job until Arthur T Demoulas is restored to CEO. Get this: On Friday over 2000 employees gathered at the company headquarters in Tewksbury, MA to demand the return of Arthur T Demoulas as CEO. As of today, 8 long time employees have been fired from the company. Talk about loyalty. This is fascinating to me. Market Basket must be one hell of an employer.

  • Rory McIlroy wins the British Open at the age of 25! A great story. This his third Major victory on his quest for a Grand Slam title. The elusive Masters in April is the only victory he needs to secure the title and join Tiger Woods and Jack Nicklaus in the Grand Slam club. The victory was especially poignant for his father, who reportedly placed a bet on McIlroy while he was still a teen on winning the prestigious tournament. 

Nice work Rory! It's nice to see a talented, young golfer do well!

  • Why does it already feel like the summer is slipping away? July 21, and its seems like we are rounding third on the summer thing. Am I right?  I dunno bloggers. BBQ's aren't tasting so great anymore and the weather lately has been undecided on summer. It's like it's not quite sure of what it wants. Maybe it's just me. What do you think?

Friday, November 15, 2013

Friday Funny


Not to brag or anything...
But I can still fit into the earrings I wore in high school.

Happy Weekend bloggers! Celebrate any victory no matter how small.

Monday, October 8, 2012

Green To Red Christmas Experiment


So I have three poinsettia plants left over from last Christmas. Their hearty red leaves have, at this point, all turned green and they are thriving. I have them in a sunny window and they have grown to become quite beautiful.

But they are green, and they are poinsettias. Shouldn't they be red?

Now that fall has arrived on our doorsteps and the mums are in pots outside, I have been looking at the poinsettias and wondering if their leaves will turn back to a beautiful, deep red in time for St. Nick in December. So I googled this question to see what to do.

Lots of stuff came up, and what I found was that I just may have caught these beauties in time to make it work. The overall solution was this:

In order to get, or force a poinsettia plant to turn red you must eliminate it's light. The flower formation, key to turning the leaves from green to red, is triggered by periods of darkness. During the day the plant needs bright light to absorb energy for color production, but at night they must not receive any bright light for a minimum of 12 hours.

So what do I do? And is it even worth all the trouble? I could just buy new red ones and be done with it, right? Or I could keep them green and just keep them where they are, thriving and see what happens. The curious soul inside me thinks I should experiment with at least two of the three..

I then found this:
"You have to shorten the day light it receives. In high school I worked at a green house and we raised 50,000 plus poinsettias a year. Starting around September place it in the closet around 3 pm and take it out around 7am. This will force the leaves to turn red. Its a lot of work, trust me I know after all the years i worked in the green house I have never bought a poinsettia since."

What would you do bloggers?


Monday, September 17, 2012

The Good, The Bad, And The Ugly



It was one of those weekends.

The Good: I got to see an old friend and help a good one. Seeing people you used to have a great connection and memories with is always a pleasure. It's nice to catch up and commiserate over shared issues and people and laugh about old times. My good friend finally relented, which is a miracle in itself, but she allowed me to help her through a challenge. I can report the outcome was better than expected and facing the challenge may have helped her more that we both know.

The Bad: The hits just keep on coming, but I will not relent. Forward motion is what I will continue and I will not let this battle deter me from my final goal. I've done my due diligence and I'm moving forward with the plan. Battle I will, if the need be, but I will not relent. The strong survive and I've got that on my side. I am confident the outcome will be worth it all.

The Ugly: Oh yeah, it was ugly, and we all know it. Every soldier on that field yesterday and every fan can all agree, that Patriots loss in the home opener was ugly. No two ways about it. Ugly breeds ugly. I couldn't help but feel like this was payback for the Baltimore loss last year in the playoffs on the same play. Now I know what the fan from Baltimore feel like. It doesn't feel good. Yet, every week we keep coming back for more. Go figure.

And in the immortal words of Scarlett O'Hara, "Tomorrow is another day."
I'm holding out hope for today.

Sunday, June 6, 2010

A Dash Of This; A Pinch Of That

A few random ingredients from the recipe of my brain:

  • The Celtics Ray Allen broke an NBA playoff record for three point field goals last night. Dude was smoking hot from outside.

  • I heard a juicy tidbit of gossip; a forty year old I know is preggers with twins and she's not married.I guess her family finds this scandalous but I think this is great news because I figure that at forty, if she wasn't taking precautions she quietly wanted this.

  • Is Kate Gosselin is on the cover of People Mag AGAIN??? Seriously, I think the world's gone crazy.

  • What's the over/under on Real Housewives New York's Jill and Bethany making up?

  • Pau Gasol of the Lakers is one UGLY mother.

  • I think God should intervene in the oil spill.

  • Lately there aren't enough hours in the day to do what I need to do. While I know that this happens to everyone, I have been letting it stress me out.
  • I saw "Get him to the Greek" this weekend. It wasn't bad, but it wasn't good. Diddy surprisingly stole the show, but I can't say I would
    recommend it.
  • Celebrities make shitty basketball fans.
  • Something tells me that the new Adam Sandler, David Spade, Kevin James, Chris Rock, etc. movie is going to suck really bad. Why else would they be pimping it out at every chance during the NBA finals?

  • Will any movie ever top "Forty Year Old Virgin"?

  • I just read an article that said Bernie Madoff is a hero and a celebrity among the prison population. Sounds about right; the King of Crooks is right where he belongs.


  • Even though Tom Cruise is the biggest douche bag in the Universe, the fact that he A. Played this role in a major motion picture. and B. Reprised it on the MTV Music Awards last night, kinda make me want to give him a pass on the douche bag thing.

Tell me that was not the greatest thing ever!

Friday, April 16, 2010