Showing posts with label Female Sports Reporters. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Female Sports Reporters. Show all posts

Thursday, July 17, 2014

Insert Foot In Mouth...


Seriously? When are the cavemen of sports going to realize that women sports reporters are here to stay? And when will they realize that they have a responsibility to not spew hate and death threats directed towards ANYONE, much less Erin Andrews when they are on-air?

The latest controversy surrounding Erin Andrews of Fox Sports News happened just the other day in my very own city. WEEI's morning program "Dennis and Callahan" co -host Kirk Minihane inserted his foot right into his mouth alright. Long story short, when in studio, on-air discussing Erin Andrew's interview with pitcher Adam Wainwright about his "about face" admission to throwing an easy pitch to hit to Derek Jeter at bat during the All Star game, Minihane unleashed a most inappropriate tirade concerning Andrews line of questioning. Andrews apparently said when ending the interview, "Don't you just love social media?"

Does it bear repeating here? YES it does so it serves as a lesson to all radio/TV host/journalists that you just can't take your hate that far without consequence. His remarks are as follows:

"I hate her! What a gutless bitch! Go away. Drop dead. I mean, seriously what the hell is wrong with her? First of all, follow-up. Second of all, the guy admitted he did it. He admitted he told reporters he threw a couple of pipe bombs. How is that social media’s fault? I hate her. Don’t you love social media? Yeah…social media is — shut up. shut up. i’m sure she’s a nice person, but she’s…she’s probably a bitch. I hate her."

He immediately remarked ,"I'm gonna get in trouble for this." And he was right!

Minihane, last night, issued an apology on WEEI's  website:

"This morning on the radio I used a series of words to describe Erin Andrews' work at the All-Star Game. My choice of words was wrong; I was wrong to have used them. To all whom I offended -- particularly Ms. Andrews -- I apologize. There is no place for what was said. It was immature and completely uncalled for. I am often critical of media members and their work and recognize here that I've made the kind of mistake I would call out if it was done by another sportscaster or writer. Again, to all involved, I'm very sorry."


Ya think?

I am so tired of this "men are superior" mentality in sports broadcasting and I'm sure I'm not alone in this thinking. As for Erin Andrews? No matter what she looks like, she has worked hard to get where she is and to stay where she is, regardless of what a small minded sports personality in Boston thinks. There are a million pretty faces that are all trying to do the same thing that Erin Andrews is doing, has done, and continues to keep doing. She has earned her stay. When does she get the respect that is allotted to any other sports reporter of her stature?

Blonde, brunette, white, black, yellow or green...I don't care who SHE is. She's got a job to do and if she wasn't good at what she does she wouldn't be there. Period. Fox Sports thinks so too. They issued the following statement about the  controversy:

 “Comments such as these are inappropriate and inexcusable. It is unfortunate that one of the best sports talk radio stations in the country would allow and condone such low-class behavior from one of their on-air personalities.”

I stand behind Erin Andrews regardless of what I may think of her personally. Good, bad or indifferent it's time to end the superiority complex that some men have about women sports reporters. Period.

I'm curious how Minihane's shoes are tasting right about now. Pretty sour is my bet.

Friday, October 8, 2010

Moss Grows On A Rolling Stone



So you might have heard that Randy Moss was traded a few days ago to the Minnesota Vikings.


Boo Fricken Hoo.


It's not a great thing for my hometown team, per say, but it's not really a bad thing. You see, Randy is what you would call a "coddled" NFL football player. In the two years that Randy has played for the Pats, he's done some amazing things on the field. He's broken records and given Tommy a deep field threat that an unnamed NFL coach yesterday said, "Every defensive game plan against the Patriots starts with the question, 'How are you going to handle Randy Moss?'. You got to deal with Moss before you think about anything else."


That kind of thinking is what stalled Moss' on-field production last year. Now just into the 2010-2011 season, has Belichick thrown away the brass ring? Only time will tell. For now, the Pats decided that Randy had crossed over into the point of no return with his,"I'm not getting no respect" stance and successfully put the last nail in his New England Patriots coffin. He pissed off Kraft.


Story has it that back in February, at a charity event, Moss told a reporter that "the Patriots don't really pay". Not a smart move, to bite the hand that feeds you during a contract year. Mr. Kraft, a proud man, responded in the media with, "Do you know how much Randy has made over the last two years? Over 20 million, so I don't think we don't pay for quality." That was the beginning of the end for Randy and the Pats. Moss then went on to act disrespectful and make his unhappiness known to anyone who would listen. Including an assembled media after a big win. He began a recent post-win press conference with immature babble about feeling unwanted due to the lack of contract negotiations.


It was even more evident when last Monday night, Moss put up a no-catch game and had words with the offensive coordinator during half-time of the Pats/Dolphins Monday night game. Randy was the rolling stone, on a fast track to the bottom of the hill. Now back with Minnesota, Moss is with another star quarter back, hoping to get some love. We are left with not much of anything. Right now. Sure, Tommy has lots of other offensive weapons at his disposal. The question is will they be as effective as Moss. And why now? Is it business or is it football?


Belichick says that he makes decisions based on what's best for the team. Is this really the time to trade a marquis receiver, a future hall-of-famer, because he's being a brat? The Pats are defense-challenged this year and must rely on offensive to win games. Did Kraft and Bill make a big blunder to save face here? I some how feel like a Moss-y stone rolls just as fast as one without. Couldn't we have waited till the end of the season to wipe that stone clean?


*quotes from this report can be attributed to yesterday's Boston Herald*

Thursday, September 16, 2010

They're Just Boobs Boys

My good friend Jim brought this story to my attention yesterday. I had already read all about it and had it on my radar when Jim inquired about my perspective on the issue.

If you aren't aware of the story here's the condensed version which reads like every other female sports reporter/locker room harassment scandal story in the past 20 years.

Mexican TV network, TV Azteca reporter Ines Sainz was covering Jets Quarterback Mark Sanchez in the Jets locker room over the weekend when some of the players began making inappropriate comments about her. So much so, that it prompted another reporter to walk over to her and apologize for the way she was being treated and still another reporter to report their behavior to the league. Prior to the locker room experience, the players had even been cat-calling out to her and threw footballs in her direction while on the practice field.

Why? Because Ines is smokin' hot and it's a fact that she uses her smokin' hotness to promote her career.



Yeah. So. What.



Does that mean she's asking for it? That she deserves it? Such questions lie at the center of this debate.

Does she act professionally when on the job? All accounts say yes. Ines has been reporting for TV Azteca for 9 years. She, herself stated that although embarrassed by the Jets actions, she didn't take it "to heart" and continued on with the job at hand. She, herself stated that she did NOT report the incident to the NFL, and that she never felt threatened. Sainz said today she did not hear exactly what was being said in the locker room. "I pretended not to notice," she told "Good Morning America." "I was focused on my job."

Sounds to me like she's been here before and sounds to me like she carried on just as she has in the past. Professionally. The problem for some is that Ines is waaaay to gorgeous and dressed waaay too "provocatively" for sports reporting. Who says? There can be no arguing that Ines is a sexy, gorgeous woman who dresses her part, promoting that sexy-ness. That's her "schtick", as they say. Her tight jeans, (which if you google image Ines Sainz, more than 15 pictures of her ass in tight jeans come up) are kind of like Harry Caray's glasses although Ines' jeans don't seem medically necessary. Minor point. The point here is that no matter what she looks like and no matter how she's dressed, she does not deserve to be treated with sexual harassment in the work place or any place else for that matter. And herein lies the "thin line which is hard to cross" in this debate. Ines claims "it's my style. all my life", and that she is not trying to provoke anything.

Here's what I think for whatever it's worth.

I don't think women reporters should be in the locker rooms. I don't think they belong there.

I know because I've been there and if the athletes act unprofessionally and with disrespect towards female reporters, it makes for a terrible working environment. Forget what being the subject of that can do to one's psyche. Sophomoric behavior will continue to take place if reporters continue to do business in the locker room, and female reporters will always be part of the press whether dressed provocatively or not.

Now, I'm not saying restrict females from the locker rooms. Not at all. I'm saying restrict all press from the locker rooms. There is no need for them to be in there anyway, and conduct business outside the locker room in a press room. This will in no way put an end to those who will continue to cat call and whistle when she is working, but it will put all reporters on even ground which means they will all be dressed and ready for the Q&A.

And don't blame Ines Sainz. "Sainz said she chooses clothing that she considers attractive. "All [women] like to be attractive," she said. "In Mexico, I'm very well known for my image and my work."