Showing posts with label Television. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Television. Show all posts

Tuesday, January 6, 2015

Planes, Stains and Television


So I left for sunny Florida yesterday on a Jet Blue Flight from Boston to Fort Meyers. I couldn't wait to get the hell out of the cold! Since New Years Day I have been traveling nonstop. Frack and I went to NYC to find her an apartment (which we did) and then came home for a day but left the next day for Florida. Now safely ensconced in my week's vacation destination with my family, I have a few observations to share with you on travel.

Rolling luggage, cross body bags and Uber-Wow! Who invented rolling luggage? I would truly like to meet them and thank them. Rolling luggage has become a commonplace thing for travelers today, but you don't really appreciate it until you have to walk around NYC looking at apartments before going to Penn Station to board your train home. Life saver, really. Shuttling through the airport with a heavy roller makes life so much easier. 

And speaking of easier-I recently received a FABULOUS cross body purse for my birthday and it is quite possibly the best travel companion. Not only does it free up your hands, but because it is securely hung around your neck and slung across your body, you need not worry about the bag slipping off your shoulder or being "ripped" off your shoulder. Secure and easy. 

UBER? If you are not familiar with the Uber car service Ap for your smart phone, let me tell you this is the epitome of travel convenience. You download the ap, punch in your location, call for a car and voila! You get a map with the exact location of your driver, the time until your pickup and a phone call from your driver to let you know they have arrived! The best part? No money is transacted-all rides and tips are charged to your credit card stored to in your Uber ap. Uber is not yet in all locations in the US, but I can see why the cab companies hate Uber. They have made it ever so easy to get a car. Especially if you are in a major city.

Jet Blue- First let me state this unequivocally-I love Jet Blue! Again, I love Jet Blue, but even Tom Brady  throws a pick in the end zone once in a while (God forbid) Lets just say that my latest Jet Blue experience was not the best. Let's start with the stains in the bathroom-on the floor, on the walls and most definitely on the counter. I'm usually not that skittish when it comes to airplane bathrooms but even I didn't want to touch anything or even breathe in there. 

Then there were the wheelchairs-which isn't really Jet Blue's fault. I'm sure the airline provides wheelchairs for all of their elderly patrons, but I have never seen so many elderly people in wheelchairs at the gate who miraculously were able to get up and walk on to the plane, no problems. I suspect better screening would alleviate the wheelchair traffic congestion at the gate. 

Takeoff was brutal! Again, not Jet Blue's fault really, but let's just say that the wind in Boston caused the takeoff to be prayer inducing and sigh/scream worthy from more that not of the passengers on board. I definitely spent the first 10 minutes of my plane ride with God. 

But the TV's? Here is where Jet Blue has it figured out. Sit me in front of my very own, personal TV set for 3-6 hours and I am a happy girl! Funny thing, I find I watch shows I wouldn't normally watch at home when my TV time is limited. It's like I have the best excuse in the world to watch any kind of TV show that strikes my fancy. I watched a lot of Food Network this trip and I'm sure it won't surprise you at all that I am cooking a feast for my family tonight. Inspiration comes from all places! 

Who am I to complain, really? I am blessed to be able to enjoy time away in the warm weather with my family. Trains, planes and automobiles and all-life could be far worse.




Monday, December 9, 2013

You Go Girl


So I'm sounding off today. Being the mother of a trained actor I have a few notes on Carrie Underwood's performance of the television event last week of the beloved "Sound of Music" and her performance as the lead Maria Von Trapp.

First thing's first:


  • Underwood's vocal performance was amazing! Being on stage live with Broadway veterans like Audra McDonald and Christian Borle couldn't have been easy for her yet vocally, I think she held her own and did a great job with the music.
  • Stephen Moyer was dull and uninteresting and there was no chemistry between the Captain and Maria.
  • Carrie Underwood is not Julie Andrews. But really, is anybody? Queen Julie is an icon. Those are some seriously large shoes to fill. 
Ok, so Carrie is not a trained actor, nor does she claim to be one, but she was chosen to play the part and what was she going to say? No? I doubt anyone would say no to a role like that. I'm thinking that Carrie did her very best, being a singer and entertainer, at being an actor. At this point I would say that the acting was her biggest failure. Acting evidently does not come easy to her. Was she miscast? It's possible, but again, would you turn down the role if you got it? 

I think that Carrie did what they wanted her to do which was look and sound pretty. The production is at fault for more than just Underwood's acting chops. While there were highlights, there were far too many lowlights that I think people wanted to blame on Carrie. All I could think of is that could have been my baby girl Frick, and the pressure that preceded and followed the live performance must have been monumental.

How do you solve a problem like the haters? Haters gotta hate and hate they did. Social media blew up almost immediately with venom and mean, mostly directed at Underwood and I'm sorry but she wasn't the only problem here. Evidently the criticism got to Carrie because she responded in a classy way via social media and I give her kudos!


"Plain and simple: Mean people need Jesus," the singer tweeted on Friday, Dec. 6, a day after the live special. "They will be in my prayers tonight... 1 Peter 2:1-25," she added.




Thursday, September 12, 2013

Top Five



I've been feeling a little obsessive compulsive lately. With the summer packing it's bags on the way out, fall is knocking on the door. Time for change, in all things seasonal and otherwise. These are my top five can't live withouts....at the moment.

1. Breakfast-I never eat breakfast. I repeat; I never eat breakfast, but lately I've been eating an apple with a spoonful of peanut butter in the morning. And I love it! I actually look forward to my new ritual of an apple and peanut butter. I can report that I have more energy throughout the day, too. Maybe there is some truth to the claim that breakfast is the most important meal of the day. Go figure.

2. Maybelline FitMe Stick Foundation- So that a trip to Ulta with Frick could not be considered a total loss for me, I purchased the $6.99 foundation stick because I was curious. Two thumbs way up! This smooth and soft gel stick foundation glides on the skin effortlessly and leaves a gorgeous matte finish. The core of the stick is made of a lightweight, anti-shine powder. Perfect in the t zone for a combination skinned typed woman like me, I have taken to carrying this tiny stick in my purse for afternoon touch ups.

3. Boodie Bars?- The question mark is there for a reason. I bought these organic, healthy looking energy bars at the market on a whim. They were rich, "superfood" organic energy bars with a thick pasty consistency. The sugar content was low so I tried them and I FRICKEN loved them! Now I can't find them, and I'm embarrassed to admit I don't know what they are called. When I went back to the market to get more, they were gone. I had a vague idea of what the packaged looked liked and when I inquired to the manager their whereabouts, I thought he called them Boodie Bars? I also think there may be a Buddah on the package. In any case, I can't find them!! My Internet searches have come up empty and the market manager wasn't sure if they were going to order more. I'm going to make it my mission to find them.

4. Ray Donovan- Showtime's smash series is entering into its final episodes! What am I going to do?? It seems I can't get enough of the sexy, hunky Liev Schreiber and his family from Southie. There are just two episodes left and I can hardly wait. Then it will be over and I will have Ray no more. It will probably be almost a year before the show comes back for season 2 and I hope they can top this season. I guess I will have to fill my Ray Donovan void with Showtime's Homeland. As much as I love Mandy Patankin, let's face it, he's no Leiv Schreiber.

And my Number 5 Top Five favorite of the moment is:
My baby gir Frick- I know, she's off to college and that she has her own life, but I love talking to her at the end of a long day. It's not smothering if I talk to her once a day, is it? We share with each other our daily challenges and offer advice. I think it's a good thing and I'm somewhat surprised she continues to answer the phone rather than text. I'm always happy to chat with my kiddos about life's little mysteries.  As I said, I don't have all the answers, but sometimes they think I do. 

And that's good enough for me.






Tuesday, September 10, 2013

An Open Letter...



Dear (insert name here),

Madewell,  I love your fashions but your tops don't wash well.

Louis Vuitton, you tempt me. You are the one true entity that can separate me from my hard earned cash.

Love, You are like a drug. One hit and you keep me wanting, searching for more.

Television, we have become old friends, you and I. More so now that I am older. I seek your escape at the end of a long day and you rarely disappoint.

Wisdom, Why do you abandon me when I need you most? Is it then that you carry me? Sometimes I can't tell.

Parenting, Thanks for the gift of them. And for the constant realization that I don't have all the answers. That I am only human.

Technology, Where would we be without you?

Confidence, Don't ever leave me, ok?

Writing, Thank God for you. Where else would I put all that crap that collects inside this head?

Makeup,  I want it all. Every little bottle and compact that sends shivers down my spine. Is makeup hoarding a psychological thing?

Friendship, If I am rich in nothing else, I am wealthy in friendship. I have been blessed by the commerce of friendship. I have been burned by some and with some I have made good choices, but all the while I have learned from you. Thank you for a great human experience.

Spaghetti, I love you.

Marriage, Ya I know, I can't brag here because I have failed once before. But this time I may have gotten it right. Just saying..

Religion, Let's not start that now, ok?

Tom Ford, You are perfect.

Blogspot, Happy are those who can come to a place everyday where everybody knows their name. 

Tuesday, November 6, 2012

Stick The POTUS Fork In it



I am so done with this election.

I am so glad that after today it will be over. If I see one more Elizabeth Warren or Scott Brown political ad on TV I'm going to sucker punch someone.

At this point there's nothing more to say and nothing more to do except to exercise your right as a registered, over the age of 18 American and go and vote. That's it. We will let Democracy do the rest of the talking.

May the best man win.

Tuesday, January 10, 2012

Too Real


I dreamt last night that Adrienne and Paul Nassif were overnight guest in my home. That's probably because I watched the Real Housewives of Beverly Hills on Bravo before I went to bed. It's quite possible that I dreamt about them because I can most relate to the Nassif's, more than any of the other cast members on the show. They appear to be somewhat grounded, which is more than I can say for some of the other cast members.

Where do I start?

Let's start with Brandi Glanville. Bandi is the ex-wife of scumbag, cheater, actor Eddie Cibrian and the newest member of the Real Housewives of Beverly Hills cast. Ever since Cibrian cheated on Brandi with country singer LeeAnn Rimes, his life is pretty much been the toilet. Save for the fact that his new wife LeeAnn's flush with cash, the guy would have no luck it weren't for bad luck. There's no denying that Brandi is smokin' hot! But on the end of "smoking hot" I feel I have to add "skank". I'm sorry, but the chick's a skank and there's really no better adjective to describe her. I also think she's using drugs more than frequently, a fact that she does not try to hide. But dang, I got a give her credit, I want to have her body when I come back in another life.

Then there's Kyle and Kim. Two sisters who are the blood related Aunts to Paris Hilton. At one time, in her youth, Kim was Disney royalty, but like most child stars, her fall from grace has been hard to say the least. Kim's a train wreck. She's so obviously abusing substances, that it's almost wrong to watch on television. The excuses, the lies, the lateness and the disappointment that her family endures is hardly tolerable. Knowing now that Kim has entered a rehab facility makes watching this take place even more poignant. Kyle keeps needling Kim and Kim keeps disappointing Kyle and everyone else. It doesn't take a rocket scientist to figure out what's going on here. Yet the entire cast only hints about the fact that something is wrong and they continue on with their scripted shooting schedule, so that everyone can make a paycheck.

The tragic figure of the entire cast is Taylor whose husband Russell committed suicide just days before September 5 Real Housewives of Beverly Hills television preview. That's too Real. These are real people dealing with real issues that are both serious and tragic. Last night we saw Taylor in the throes of the aftermath of the end of her marriage. Even her therapist told her to get out. He came right out and said, "You can't live like this any longer. It's time to make some tough decisions." We now know the result of that marital breakup; Russell suicide. There were allegations that some serious physical and mental abuse was taking place and there is a child involved.

The stuff is all too Real.

And we watch their lives play out in front of us on television for our personal entertainment. TV executives who exploit these characters and give them a vehicle to showcase their drama make millions and become celebrities themselves because they make Real their business.

I feed right into that business. I buy what they're selling hook, line, and sinker because we, as a whole, LOVE to watch. My dad always says," If you lived in a cul-de-sac and brought all of your problems into the center in a trash bag, then you put that trash bag into the middle with everyone else's problems; you'd sure as shit pick up your own problems and run." I think the Nassif family is benefiting from this way of thinking.

Because like the MTV show that trail blazed the way for all others always said, "to find out what happens... when people stop being polite... and start getting real"