Showing posts with label Super Bowl. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Super Bowl. Show all posts

Monday, February 2, 2015

Wikid PISSAH!!!


I'm beside myself...What. A. Game! 
Probably the most exciting thing I have ever seen...and I'm still not over it. 

This win was especially exciting and sweet! So while I let this marinate for a while, I invite you to watch this hilarious Jimmy Kimmel beauty by a couple of characters from my home town!

SUPER BOWL CHAMPS!!!!!





Friday, January 30, 2015

GO PATS!


It's GO TIME!

I'm all business. It's time to squash all those naysayers, haters and trash talkers and go out there and play the game. Win or loose-we have waited 7 years for this and our time has come. I stand behind My Team. No matter what the NFL finds-and I believe they won't find anything because there is nothing to find-I stand behind this team. My team and My Tommy. We are ready! We are New England. Win or loose, I still wear the flying Elvis proudly.

In honor of my hometown team I re-post this-because no matter where I am, I will always be a Boston girl:




GO PATS!!!!

Friday, January 23, 2015

A Press Conference With Candy


Friday, January 23, 2015, 11:00AM EST

*With the hordes of media surrounding the bright pink podium at The Daily Dandy headquarters, Candy steps up to the podium clutching a sheet of paper. The sound of camera shutter clicks and reporters shuffling for a better view can be heard  throughout the room as Candy prepares herself to address the media.*

" I'd like to read a prepared statement addressing 'Deflategate' and then I will take questions from the assembled media."
"As a ride or die New England Patriots fan and an even bigger Tom Brady fan I feel the need to address the allegations against My Tommy and my home town team. I first need to state that my silence on this issue on Candy's Daily Dandy in the previous 5 days should in no way be construed as  "disappointment, anger or distress" by me, but simply a circumstantial issue. While I was in NYC moving my daughter into her new apartment over the past week, I had been paying close attention to the daily developments and the reports."


"What I do know is that the NFL's silence on this issue has not clarified any of the facts on 'Deflategate', so we are all left with the Herculean task of Monday morning quarterbacking this controversy. While ESPN has cited a 'report' that 11 of the 12 game balls for the New England Patriots in the AFC Championship game were found to be 2 psi's under what the rules state they should be inflated to-the NFL has yet to confirm this fact. We also now know that there is an NFL game official assigned to inspect and deem appropriate for play, those 12 balls."


"Media speculation has been such that there may have been some foul play in regards to Tommy's balls. Tommy's balls foul? I have to defer that answer to the professionals in charge of balls. It's the ball official that deemed Tommy's balls appropriate for play and therein lies the crux of the investigation. The question begs to be asked, were the balls presented to the official by The New England Patriots for play in the AFC Championship game on Sunday, January 18th, 2 hours before kickoff within legal league specifications? If the answer is yes, then the next question that needs to answered is what happened to Tommy's balls between then and the beginning of the third quarter."


"Conspiracy theories about what happened to the balls are abound and hard earned reputations are being called into question. Until I, like countless others, have all the facts and answers concerning the deflated balls, I am unable to decisively form any opinion regarding Tommy's balls or Deflategate. I will now take questions from the media."



Q:"Candy, will this controversy alter your personal opinion of 'Your Tommy' or his legacy in any way?"

"What I know about My Tommy is that he is a guy who works extra hard day in and day out to maintain his elite status as an NFL quarterback. His maniacal work ethic has been well documented and I think his exemplary record stands as testament to the kind of success he has had throughout his career. It's highly unlikely that I will abandon that position after this controversy has been resolved."



Q:"So are you saying that you don't think Tom Brady is a cheater?" 

"I don't think My Tommy cheated or has to cheat to be Tom Brady. I think people who excel at sports are always subject to naysayers or haters who love it when the mighty fall. It's part of his job as a professional athlete, but it's how people like Tom handle adversity that really sets them apart. Tom Brady didn't get to be Tom Brady by cheating. Tom Brady works hard and loves and respects this game."

Q:"If the NFL confirms that that this was cheating, what will you say then?"

"I hope that none of us ever have to address that issue. What I think we may have to address is the issue of what's commonplace in the NFL as far as the rules are regarded and what isn't. For example, if the national speed limit is 55 and your are caught driving 57, should you loose your license forever? Or should you be fined and given a ticket or even let go with a warning for a minor infraction? Rules of the road are rules of the road but what's an appropriate response for a breech? 

Q: "Do you think the Patriots are being unfairly targeted because of their history with scandal?"

"Yes, but I also think the rules are the rules and no one is above them."
"Thank you for coming today."





Friday, January 17, 2014

The Super Bowl


I'm soooooo nervous....

But in My Tommy we trust.

Heck, after all the devastating injuries the Patriots have suffered this season, I figure this game is a bonus. But there is something different about this time. So much riding on who wins...Not only does the winner go to the BIG Kahuna, The Super Bowl, but the winner here preserves a legacy. A quarterback legacy.

It's Tommy vs. Peyton and that has been the focus of Sunday's game in Denver. Oh, we've been here lots of times before, but this time it's far more serious. This time the circumstances are different. Both of them are in the December of their careers. Each one has a ton to prove, both to themselves and to the world. Can Peyton win when it counts? Statistics are not on his side Can Tommy lead his depleted team to his 6th, record breaking, Super Bowl? Stats are on Tommy's side-but lately he's not been the closer we have become accustomed to. This time Peyton has home field advantage and a whole new team with a loaded-league leading offense.

What does Tommy have? He's got it all, and he knows how to use it. This guy is one you can never count out. Never. Because when you do, that's when Tommy will make you pay. But is this the team to do it with? With this win, he will go back into the category he belongs in, the "possible greatest to ever play the game" category and I think he deserves it. And that's only with the win on Sunday.

But in My Tommy we trust.

It's just everybody else I worry about.




Monday, February 4, 2013

Ray's Last Day


The Super Bowl?

Yeah, it lived up to it as much as I hate to admit it. It was a very reluctant Super Bowl for me and it delivered. The highlights:


  • It was a great game. If really good football is being played, it really doesn't matter which side you are on. Of course, everyone always chooses a side they align with to win, but in the grand scheme of things if it aint your team, who really cares? The first half was a complete show of Baltimore dominance. And just when everybody was thinking that this game could be all over, the Gods from up above let their presence be known. And if the Ravens didn't win, there are a lot of people who would be calling foul right now.
  • Beyonce. Wow...just wow. She delivered the sexiest, hottest slamming Super Bowl show in recent history. Mesmerized is an understatement, and the Destiny's Child reunion was a nice surprise. Wow, for me,(who's not really a huge Beyonce fan) I'm a huge Beyonce fan. She crushed it and put all those Obama Inagural fraud rumors to rest. Bey is the real deal and her strut and swagger only make me Girl crush harder for her. Hairography anyone?
  • Great catches. Flacco and his receivers were all about the connection. And Jacoby Jones? At Times it would seem that they were making catches from the heavens. 
Like my good friend Moog from the 40 year old Virgin would say:

"Its's not about winning football and Cincinnati Bow ties, It's about love and connection..."

Looks like Flacco and his team were deeply in love with each other and just at the right time. Because now the  whole sports world is gonna fall in love with them too. 



Monday, February 27, 2012

Hollywood's Lombardi Trophy


I can't confess to being completely celebrity obsessed and fashion crazed and NOT put my two cents in about last night's Hollywood party of all parties, the Oscars. This is the big kahuna, the Lombardi for Hollywood, the Holy Grail for most recipients and the only place to see and be seen if you are in entertainment.

So much about last night was noteworthy, but here are my observations and in no particular order:

The Awards:

Meryl- How can you even question it? Everybody thought Viola Davis was a lock and then the Iron Lady sweeps in and steals the statue. Meryl (looked stunning for once) is Hollywood royalty and everyone should be in agreement that the Oscar is exactly where it should be. I love her casual elegance. The fact that she is one of the most celebrated and awarded actress today not withstanding, she has managed to have what seems to be, it all. A long marriage, family and a fabulous career. Kudos for a job well done.

Christopher Plummer-The 82 year old accomplished actor finally captured the brass ring. He was quite elegant in his acceptance, and I'm happy that the father from The Sound Of Music can now add Oscar winner to his resume.

Billy Crystal-While I think he played it safe on the telecast, it felt like an old friend was taking us through the motions. His opening sequence, a visual homage to each nominated picture, was comfortably predictable and enjoyable. Billy may not have the pipes to pull that off on Broadway, but it didn't matter. It's Billy and the Oscars. Best line of the night, "There's nothing better than watching millionaires award each other gold statues."

The Fashions:

Gwenneth-It's not that frequent that I have such a visceral reaction to fashion, but she literally took my breath away. Then I learned that her stunning white ensemble was Tom Ford and I understood why I was so touched. He's the King. Pure perfection. I cannot say anything else. Simply stunning.

Jennifer Lopez-No. No, just no. Why? Really? She was the street walker of the night and I hated her hair. Her only redeeming aesthetic was the Scott Barnes Body Bling (which The Candy Bar sells) that she is famous for. Her glow was pure J Lo.

Angelina Jolie-Hmmm, I'm not quite sure here. It was ok, but her ridiculous pose, with her hand on hip and her leg exposed most purposefully was a huge turn off. Ok, so she is the most beautiful woman on the planet and she was beautiful last night for sure, but the problem for me was that the whole pose thing, on stage, made he think that she takes her self and her sex appeal WAY TOO SERIOUS. Huge turn off.

Misc:

Ryan Seacrest-Speaking of taking themselves way too serious, Seacrest beat out Angelina. Sacha Baron Cohen, dressed as his latest movie role, The Dictator, dumped, what was suppose to be the cremains of King Jong II all over the Burberry tuxedo jacket of E!'s Red Carpet host Ryan Seacrest. Ryan just couldn't roll with it. Bizarre, yes. But Seacrest's reaction was embarrassing and down right depressing to witness. Seacrest can probably see to it that Baron Cohen NEVER steps within 500 feet of him again, and that he gets black balled from whatever he wants. Baron Cohen has zero chance of ever hosting ABC's New Years Eve Count down or his own reality TV show on the E! channel. Zero. The whole thing was egg on Seacrests furious face, to say the least.

The Parties-

Wolfgang Puck fed 1500 people at The Govenors Ball and wore a custom designed chef jacket for the event. Rumor has it that his chicken pot pie with truffles was TO DIE FOR.

Miss Piggy was flawless.

I woke up with the name Octavia Spencer on the brain. I guess this lady has arrived.

Hugo won alot of awards. I have had more than a few peole recommend this film to me, so I will now prioritize it on my movie queue. And Scorsese? Not one recipient of a Hugo oscar that did not comment on the great director and what a privilege it was to work with him.

And finally, Cirque du Soleil never disappoints, and they didn't last night. I loved their acrobatic artistry.

It was a great Oscars. Not so boring that I only caught the major awards,and entertaining enough to stay up till 11:30. Then I went to sleep and Hollywood went on to party like a rock star.

Tuesday, February 7, 2012

Beantown Smackdown


I want to forget about Sunday as much as the next guy here in Boston, but it just won't go away.

And now Giselle, aka Mrs Brady, is under BIG fire for her post-Super Bowl expletive-laden rant aimed at Tommy's boys on her way out of her luxury box at Lucas Oil stadium immediately following the Patriots loss to the Giants.

Here's what I think: Thank God it wasn't me, because if it was, it would have been far worse.

If you haven't seen it already on all the trash TV shows, Giselle was being heckled by some obnoxious butt heads immediately following the loss, on her way out of the luxury box. They were shouting things like, " Eli rules!" and "Eli owns your husband!"

So what does Gi do?

She fires back while standing in front of the elevator to go down, in her thick Brazilian accent, " My husband cannot fu*king throw the ball and catch the ball at the same time." and "I can't believe they dropped the ball so many times." She ripped the team. Big no-no. Now Tom and Gi have a huge loss AND a PR mess to deal with.

Ok, so she ripped Welker and Hernandez and all the boys who work hard to make Her Tommy look good all season long, but she was mad as hell and provoked and somewhat right.....I guess when you are making 50 Mil a year in your underwear,and you are married to a genetically gifted man and have the world by the financial kahunas, you can't be forgiven of an extremely emotional moment; however foolish.

Hell, you should have heard all the names WE were calling them. It wasn't pretty and there were young kids around and no, we're not proud of it. If it were me, (in a dream) it might have been far worse. Not only would I have thrown back some choice expletives, but I might have played dirty pool and I can't say that I would not have responded, had I been her. Nope, I would have let them have it too. And a lot LOUDER. This I know for sure. I might have even lost some endorsement money and been in a bigger mess than Gi is right now. Emotions, at that time, were raw.

I guess when you have the world by the proverbial balls and your look like her, there is no crying in football. Not even if your soul mate just lost on the biggest stage there is, AGAIN. Not even when some heckling asshole, rips your heart out after the Giants just stomped all over it. Nope, the rules are different for her. She is expected to just shut her mouth and look pretty because that would have been the classy thing to do. Show no emotion. Well, who ever went on record and said that Giselle had class?

Again, good thing it wasn't me. I might have started a riot right there in the lobby of the luxury boxes at Lucas Oil Stadium. Just sayin.

Friday, February 3, 2012

Super Sunday

This is it.

This is for all the marbles. For the Big Kahuna. For the Lombardi hardware, so that we can have an even set of four.

This is for 2007.

This is for all the king's horses and all the kings men.

And this time we don't have that arrogant swagger.

This time we know how important and how vulnerable this team and this game is. It's anybody's ball game and there is no team I would rather be taking the field with than My Tommy and the Pats. This year I won't be in Indy with my brother. I decided last Wed to give up my ticket. Too much of a logistical nightmare for me and three 50 year old, crazy guys. Can you believe I took a pass? Hey, I've been there, done that. I can check attending a New England Patriots Super Bowl win off my bucket list. This year I will be home hosting a party and will be in front of the screen come kick off. The party is half the fun anyway.

Some fun Super Bowl party facts according to The Nielsen Group:

1.25 BILLION chicken wings will be consumed Sunday.

9 out of 10 people in the US will be watching the game.

Domino's Pizza estimates they will deliver over 9million pieces of pizza.

11.2 million pounds of potato chips will be consumed and 8 million pounds of guacamole.

Historically, the team with the lower unemployment rate tends to win the Super Bowl. Today, Boston's unemployment is at 6.8 percent and New York is at 8.5 percent. This fact bodes well for the Pats, BUT, the last time a team with a higher unemployment rate beat a team with a lower unemployment rate was in 2008 when the Giants beat the Patriots in the Super Bowl. F-them.

1/3 of all adult will be betting this game and 51.7 million cases of beer will be sold. (do you think Heff is part of that equation?)

Hotels in Indy are sold out! But, if you want to stay close the airport, the Indy news is reporting that a hotel that normally charges $39.00 a night is available for $729.00 a night this weekend.

The Super Bowl is the second highest food consumption day in the US, second to Thanksgiving.

7-11 stores report an 20% increase in the sales of antacids the day AFTER the Super Bowl.



If my stomach is the only thing that is hurting after this Super Bowl, then I will be a happy girl.I'll pray for Tommy like Giselle wants me to. I'll pray to anyone who will listen. Let's bring it home.


God speed boys, bring it home to mama. We will all be waiting.

Tuesday, February 8, 2011

Xtina's Big Screw Up



So this is it, the Super gaffe that everyone is talking about.

Really? This is what everyone is talking about?

Yes, she sang the wrong words. Yes, she screwed up our National Anthem on what would be considered the biggest stage in the world, on one of our favorite national pastime's big day. OK, so she screwed up our Anthem by singing the wrong verse, but it's not as bad as I thought it was, considering all the negative press she's been getting for it.

I missed this live, you see, because I was hosting a small party. While I was mixing drinks for my guests, making sure the cocktail napkins were lined up and the ice in every one's drink was tinkling, Xtina was singing the National Anthem on the big screen at my house. Christina Aguilera sang for the masses and no one said a word about her mistake.

Not one of my guests. Not one of the kids. No one claimed it ruined their evening nor hindered the enjoyment of the game. I didn't even hear about it until the next day, when it was all over the Internet. The way she was lambasted in the press for her performance, I figured she really screwed up, embarrassed herself and made a spectacle of our Nation's anthem. Then I saw it.

You judge for yourself, but I'm not judging her. What is this? American Idol?
She sang the wrong words....but she sang on like the professional that she is. If I wasn't paying attention, I may have never known, really. She kept right on going and finished strong. And now Joan Rivers finds it ok to lambaste her for her weight, because she sang the wrong verse??

What has this world come to?? We know that personally, Christina is going through a rough divorce and has been reportedly distraught. She may even be making some questionable choices by imbibimg a bit too much and gaining some weight. And she made an error singing the most sacred of songs on the most sacred of days.

It's not like she flashed her nipple for the world to see.

She sang the wrong verse. Big. Fricken. Deal. Shit happens and it happened to Christina during an emotionally tough time in her life.It's not like she even made it known, and fumbled the words, and made awkward sounds and walked off the stage. I think that would be a big screw up. She made a mistake but she kept right on going. A minor blip and I think I can cut her some slack here.

What do you think bloggers?

Monday, February 7, 2011

A Thrilling GLee



The big news yesterday was not that the Packers won the Super Bowl. The big news was the return of Glee immediately following the big game.


If you stayed up late to watch it, congrats. After the onslaught of all those finger foods and Pizza pies, to then go back to McKinnley with the Glee club was certainly a victory in my book.


Sue Sylvester, bored and ready for some action, sits viewing the Cheerios latest routine for competition. After the "biggest and most elaborate" Cheerio spectacle, complete with blue wigs, bicycle stunts, and sparkler coned boobs, and Katy Perry's California Gurls, Sue is bored and needs more oomph. She decides that Brittney needs to be shot out of a cannon so that Sue can find her excitement for competition again. She gives the Cheerios an ultimatum; Glee or Cheerios, but not both. Principal Figgins tells Sue no way on the cannon stunt, and Sue goes ballistic, tossing papers and throwing things all over the office...And she gets away with it. She is Sue Sylvester, after all.


After Artie is showered with the biggest slushy bath in Glee history, Shue and Bieste, combine forces to bring the football team together as one, and Bieste makes the football team join Glee club. The team, on the verge of winning their first championship concedes and when Sue announces that she bullied the Ohio Cheerleading board into changing the night of the cheerleading competition to the same night of the championship game. This poses a problem for McKinnley because this means no cheerleaders and no cheerleaders means no half time show.

(which somehow becomes more important than the game)


Shue makes it all better by coming up with a solution: the players will play in the game AND perform in full on make-up at the half time show. AND this is a plausible solution because they are going to perform a mash up of Michael Jackson's, "Thriller" and Yeah Yeah Yeah's, "Heads will Roll". And some how in the craziest of Glee alternate universes, this works! The football team, especially Karofsky (the biggest closeted bully on TV) seem to be enjoying their new status, until the hockey team showers the football team in slushie.


In the aftermath of the slushie bath, Karofsky and the rest of the team decide to walk out and quit the team, leaving the remaining five football/Glee clubbers to field a team. Really? Is their social status more important than a championship game? Apparently so. Left without a team, the girls of glee club come up with a solution. They decide to "suit up" and show up so that McKinnley can play in the game. Tina almost runs the ball in for at TD but gets banged up just short of the goal line and this sends Finn into a full out plan to get the whole team back together.


Thank goodness Sam can fill in at QB because, I'm getting the distinct feeling that this is all a bit much when Finn goes off the field to convince Quinn, Santana and Brittnay to quit the Cheerios and come back to the glee club, to which he does with ease. Good thing Brittnay didn't have time to think about the "baby cannons" and the mama cannon with fibro myalgia. They leave Sue and the Cheerios high and dry. Like Brittnay says, "that sucks for you." Puck takes to task getting the real members of the football team to come on board and perform in the halftime show and come back to the game. The thriller mash is good, but not as legendary as expected, after all that drama leading up to it.


You know what happens next. The football players come back, the halftime show goes on without a hitch and McKinnley wins the championship game. Karofsky even feels the music and joins the team on the field for the half time show and then onto the field for the rest of the game. Oh happy, joy. Finn makes the dramatic final touchdown, and is awarded game MVP, and you just know that Finn is everybody's MVP since he saved the day!


Sue is left with the biggest Loser of the Year award, and an interview with Katie Couric, which can only lead to no good. Karofsky show his complexities when Finn tells him in order to become a full fledge Glee clubber he has to make up with Kurt. Karofsky rejects the notion and returns to his old, bullying form. But in the most surprising twist......Quinn tells Finn how amazing he was over the past week, then she kisses him.....right on the lips.


Oh no, Tuesday night's episode is already promising to be a great one considering it's plot revolves around a kissing booth.


Stay tuned bloggers and Gleek's alike...


Tuesday, January 4, 2011

All Signs Pointing In The Right Direction

Remember I told you I had never been to Texas?

Well, it's looking like I may have spoken a self-fulfilling prophecy. While My Guy and I were on our little adventure, we went golfing. The starter at the club hooked us up with a man who was playing alone, so our twosome became a threesome. We met our golf partner, who was a nice gent from Dallas.

Dallas?? I thought. My Tommy radar hit it's target. "So maybe I'll be coming to Dallas soon," I told the man. "As I just so happen to be a PATRIOTS season ticket holding fan." He looked at me perplexed. I forgot for a moment that not everyone is as obsessed with The New England Patriots as I am. He was a football fan, though.

"I said I am a fan of the 12-3, New England Patriots. The team that has won 3 out of 4 World Championships in the last decade," I said. "You know, the team that had a 2007 perfect regular season. The team that has arguably the greatest QB to ever play the game, My Tommy. The team that seems destined to win one again."
"OH, that's what you're talking about." my new best friend said. Then the wheels started spinning.

My new friend fast started to tell me where we needed to stay and what we needed to do once in Dallas. I liked my new friend. His enthusiasm for his city all at once made him breath new life into his own football fan-ism. He is a Bears fan, he told me, and at the time he was holding on to his playoff hopes by a shredded piece of dental floss. He could only marvel at my team. We talked football for a while and he insisted that he would be our tour guide when in Dallas, if the football Gods see to it that we get there.

That was sign one.

Sunday, although meaningless, was sign two. But I'm not counting those particular eggs right now. I have been here before. It was 2007 and My Tommy and the boys were surging into the playoffs. We got excited and did not want to be denied when it came time to go to Miami. So we booked our trip before the AFC Championship game, confident that we would not be denied. And what happened? My Tommy lost to Peyton Manning. We ended up in Miami, with no ticket to a game we could have cared less about, watching it in the RAIN in a bar. You live, you learn. This time I approach with a quiet confidence. With my new friend in tow, I will keep my eyes on the prize, but be cautious. Dallas could be a reality, for sure, but I will take a wait, WIN, and see approach.

And this time, all signs seem to be pointing in the right direction.

Thursday, February 11, 2010

I'm Going To Disney World!



"CANDY'S DAILY DANDY, YOU JUST WON THE SUPER BOWL WHAT ARE YOU GOING TO DO NEXT?"


"I'm going to Disney World!!!"



That's right people. I'm going to the happiest place on earth. And I'm leaving today. On time. Because the super big, huge, snowstorm that was supposed to dump a heavy, foot of snow on our fair city and completely cripple our roadways, canceled our schools and had people wrestling in the supermarket aisles over loaves of Pepperidge Farm bread fizzled out. Seriously, we got about an inch and if I were a local meteorologist, I'd be hiding my head in shame right about now.

But I'm happy. Because I'm going to Florida today. On time.

So The Daily Dandy will be on hiatus from today, Thursday, February 11, 2010 until Sunday February 21, 2010. I will return to the bloggersphere on Monday, February 22, 2010.
It's a long one, I know. Of course, this trip was planned when I was unemployed, and now that I am a mini entrepreneur, I am a little worried about leaving my store for 10 days. But you know what? I need a vacation, and my employees can handle anything. I have trained them well.
I hope.

Have a wonderful week bloggers and take care of each other and the world. I'll see you on the 22nd and I'll give Mickey and the gang a big kiss for you!

Peace!


Tuesday, February 9, 2010

A Little Dash Of This And That



I know sometimes I'm likely to throw up a funny for a cheap laugh.......and that's exactly what I'm doing today!


I jacked this baby off the Boston Herald's web site this morning because it gave me a chuckle. You would have had to have watched Sunday's Super Bowl to "get" it, so if you don't know what I'm talking about, please see here for more hilarity.


I seem to be on a "greatest show on turf" theme this week, so in keeping with that theme, let's have a debate on tomorrow's Daily Dandy. I've had more than a few discussions and seen some media about legendary rock band The Who's halftime performance which has sparked a controversy about aging rockers and when to say when.


Bring your A game tomorrow and we'll have a throw down over who's sexier; Bruce Springsteen or Adam Lambert? Billie Joe Armstrong of Green Day or Steven Tyler?


I can't wait....

Monday, February 8, 2010

Happy, Happy, Joy, Joy!!

Oh, it's always a GREAT day, when Peyton Manning chokes, er um, looses a SUPER BOWL!! Yessirree, I'm gonna enjoy this one.

A great game yesterday, doncha think?
A few observations:
  • the commercial ads were disappointing. Save for Betty White and the Doritos ads, I was supremely disappointed in the "Clark and Ellen Griswold" commercial when I found out I had to go to sleepaway.com to revisit the Griswold's antics. (I have yet to do it)

  • The Who looked a hundred and two, oh yes they do, but they still sound good. They just made me feel REALLY old. (especially when the kids said, "Oh yeah, that's the CSI song." which I think is tragic.)

  • First half: *yawn*, and if you were rooting for the Saint's it was frustrating. The second half was worth the price of admission.

  • The onside kick, early in the second half: BRILLIANT. The game changer and most definitely set the course for the Big Easy win!

  • Peyton Manning lost. Did I mention that this is a good thing?

  • The Saint's more than covered the spread, but not on the over. Vegas reports that an overwhelming majority of people bet on Indy (excluding most Saints fans). Vegas must be happy.

  • I'm happy for the city of New Orleans. This is most certainly a bright spot in a city that deserves some happiness.

Congrats to The New Orleans Saints on their first NFL Superbowl Championship!

Sunday, February 1, 2009

A Super Sunday!

EDIT: Monday, Feb 2, 2008: I'm taking today to (hopefully) put together something
special for tomorrow's post, which I just realized will be my 100th post! Looks like the pressure's on!

My blogger buddy Joe has bestowed upon me the great honor of being a guest blogger (for the first time) over at his esteemed sports blog, The Other World Wide Leader In Sports. I never asked him, but I assume that is my boy Joe in the picture going for the shot. The dude got serious game! Joe and I have been buddies pretty much since I started blogging back in August and he is one of my blogger "peeps" held in high esteem.
He asked me to provide a "Do's and Dont's" list for the ladies watching today's big game today, to which I gladly accepted. The best part is that Joe added his comic takes after my points. You can check it out here and as always, leave a comment. Joe and I would be ever so grateful to know you stopped bye.
Also, check out Scope's party-we will be live blooging during game time.
Peace out Super Bowlers!