Showing posts with label Passion. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Passion. Show all posts

Wednesday, April 30, 2014

Stranded at The Drive In....


I'm just *ahem* old enough to remember the drive-in movies. My parents would load up the station wagon with all 5 of us kids and drive out to Braintree, MA to take in a movie together at the local drive-in movie complex. We would get in our pajamas and bring blankets and pillows to bed down in the way back to enjoy the experience. I can still see my dad hooking the speaker on the car window so we could hear the all important audio. If my memory serves me correct, my older brother and sisters used to sit on top of the station wagon, pillows and all.

A recent resurgence of drive-in movie complexes in New England brought back all those happy memories. According to the Boston Herald, 350 drive-in movie complexes are still in operation around the country, but like any business, they face their share of unique challenges. Inclement weather and less family friendly movie choices top that list, but the food choices are better and thanks to FM signal, the audio is broadcast right through your car radio.

New England boast four theaters: Mass has Mendon Twin, Leicester Triple and Wellfleet Drive-In and Rhode Island has Rustic Tri Vue, with two already open for business today. Prices range, but for roughly $25.00 a carload of people can experience a movie together in the great outdoors or from the comfort of their vehicle. And make a lot of fun memories too.

I, for one, think the drive-in movies should be salvaged for old time sake. To me, the drive in is as American as apple pie and baseball and that's sacred. Although no one would want to be "stranded at the drive-in" like Danny Zuko sings, no one would "brand you a fool" for enjoying an age old summer past time.





Friday, January 14, 2011

Trash Talk



That's it.


I'm ending all the Pats/Jets trash talk right here. This SI cover from 2007 says all that need to be said.


My Tommy's the deal breaker.


I am SO sick of all this Jets trash talk that I'm crawling out of my skin in anticipation for this game. When My Tommy and the boys open up a can of Whoop Ass on the Jets on Sunday, I WILL be there. I may even bring my new Flip cam and film some of the highlights to show you on Monday.


On paper we are the better team; more experienced, better offense and the best QB in the game. What we lack in defense, could Belichick make up for with schemes? Is Wilfork the heart of this young, tough defense? We should handle the Jets, no problem.But, I've said it before, this is a whole new season and anything can happen. This is going to be legendary.


And we don't go around trash talking. We just do our trashin' on the gridiron.


My Jets loving trainer and I had a slight debate going this morning (more Jets trash talk) and he commented on something that was so laughable, that I told him that I would throw it out there to my blogger buddies.


He said, "The Patriots have never won a legitimate Super Bowl."


After I picked myself up from the floor, because I was laughing so hard, I looked him square in the eye and said, "Are you shi**ing me? You are talking about arguably one of the greatest Quarterbacks to EVER play the game and a Hall Of Fame Head Coach. This team is on track to win their 4th Super Bowl in the new Millenium."


He cited "The Tuck Rule" and "Spy Gate" as his reasons for the Pats Super Bowl wins. "Why do you think everyone hates the Patriots?"he said.
To which I answered, "Everyone loves the Patriots because they are a DYNASTY, and when we bring home the Lombardi trophy from Dallas, all you naysayers will have to come up with some other pathetic reason to say it's not legit."


Call me a homer because I may just be the biggest but quiet confidence is how US Pats fans are feeling today. There is no need to trash talk.


And yes, HE is that good.

Friday, June 11, 2010

Passion Play-ah

If you've been hanging around The Dandy long enough, you know that I love me some sports. Always have. It's a part of me I can't explain and I wouldn't want to. Just about the only thing I love more than sports are some BEANTOWN sports, as you all know I bleed Celtics green, Patriots blue and silver, Sox red and Bruins black and gold.

So believe me when I say there is nothing I like better than a big Boston win. It does my heart good and makes me feel happy all over. Not only was last night's win at home STUPENDOUS, but I saw something that gives me cause to love this Celtics team even MORE, if that's possible.

In order for you to understand the point I'm making, allow me to set the scene for you: The Celtics bench was truly inspiring last night, coming in late in the game and not only took the lead, they also put up 30 plus points on the board for the night. They played hard and fought hard and wore down their Laker opponents. Did you get that?? I said the Celtics BENCH...not the Big 4 starters. KG and Rondo were taking a much deserved rest on the sidelines while the boys were taking care of bizness....and nothing is better than taking care of bizness in your own house.

But what I saw last night was not about lay ups and field goals, and it was captured in this clip: 25 seconds of the passion of this player, which just about sums up the thrill of a job well done. What you can't see is that the boy is drooling, but he don't care. And neither do we. In fact we love him more for it! We love his PASSION!



Big Baby was quoted this morning saying, "Kids, all I can say is that when you are in the moment, you are in the moment. So if I slobber, spit, snot or whatever, sorry. I was in the moment."

It's moment's like that Celtics fans live for.