Showing posts with label I'm Mad. Show all posts
Showing posts with label I'm Mad. Show all posts

Monday, November 26, 2012

Black Friday Boob



Did you hear the story about this guy?

I thought I'd heard it all, but this one really hit home. Trouble here is, I can't quite figure out who is the bigger boob. Him, for leaving his girlfriend's two year old toddler in his car at 1:30 am while he went into KMart score a 51 inch TV on Black Friday, or us for buying into all of this Black Friday madness.

No doubt, Anthony Perry is a boob to the highest degree. He claims he will live with the guilt for the rest of his life which I find interesting considering he reportedly fled the scene after purchasing the TV and saw the police cruisers and ambulance outside his car. (authorities later found him at home with his TV) But aren't we, society and the consumer public boobs too?

We buy into all this Black Friday madness and create this climate by simply engaging in shopping at midnight on Thanksgiving. Hey, I'm not saying I'm any better. As a retailer myself, I knew I had to make some sort of Black Friday offering to my customers or "live with the guilt for the rest of my life". Business is business and retailers need to stay competitive. I get that. I would be lying if I said that I wouldn't want my own Black Friday offering to create a stampede in my store. But do we/I have to create a dangerous frenzy while engaging our customers in some rewarding retail therapy?

I think not.

Look, there will always be a few bad apples that spoil it for the rest of us. This is a fact. But let's try to keep the sanctity of Thanksgiving by letting Black Friday be Black Friday. On Black Friday. Not Small business Saturday or Cyber Monday. Or whatever the emails I kept getting the week before announcing Black Friday deals the week before Black Friday. I'm exhausted just thinking about it.

I guess we are all boobs and like I always say:
Boobs are just like drinks:
One is not enough and three is too many.


Wednesday, May 16, 2012

So Now I'm Really Pissed

OK, now I'm pissed.  Another Twitter virus???

WTF!!! How does this happen?

Does this mean I'm Twitter vulnerable? I got the virus from my daughter's friend. Her Twitter feed sent me a message yesterday that said, "OMG, I'm laughing at these pics of you (followed by a link)". Last year, the same thing happened and I totally fell for it and tried clicking on the link. I must have tried three or four times, then I started to get the messages from my followers that someone had hacked my account. I changed my password and did what I had to and proceeded on. Problem solved.

This time, I knew it was a virus and did not click on the link. I ignored it. Was that my mistake? Then last night, I got another message from my daughter's friend that said, "Someone is saying terrible things about you (followed by a link)".  Even though I didn't click the link this time, my followers still got the virus. WTF??? How annoying. I have since deleted all the messages, changed my password, but I want to know how it got into my account. Now I'm a Twitter hazard, since it's happened twice.

How do I protect against this happening again? I mean, I use my Twitter for business and today one of my favorite clients emailed me and asked me personally if I knew who it was that was saying bad things about her. I immediately explained to her that it was a virus and that I was sorry for the inconvenience, but that can't be good for business.

Any advice? I'm so pissed.