Showing posts with label Psychology. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Psychology. Show all posts

Tuesday, December 27, 2011

A Heavy Issue



Now that the major meal-eating-holiday's are over and the time to resolve is fast approaching, I want to talk about weight. I got to thinking about it because I, like everyone, over indulged this weekend, and now I am feeling feeling gross and I'm not loving the mini muffin top that has sprouted over the top of my skinny jeans. Those are the same jeans I'm supposed to feel skinny in, but don't really at the moment.


It's no surprise that losing weight is one of the most common New Year's resolutions, as the weight loss in this country is a big business. For me, this year, the issue a bit different than it has ever been. I have pretty much kept off the thirty pounds I lost two years ago, give or take a five pound fluctuation here and there, and now I'm bored with this last amount of weight I lost. Now I want more, much more. I want my friends to tell me I look like I lost weight and I want to be able to say, "Yes, I did loose weight."


I want to put on my skinny jeans and not be able to wear them because they are too big. I want to go down a whole size, and "live there", and I know exactly what I need to do to get there. Is it attainable? Of course, but I was wondering if I would ever be happy there. The mini muffin-top I speak of, should take me 2-3 weeks to get back under control, then I should be able to shed 10 good pounds in six weeks. But will I be happy at that magic number?


My trainer tells me it's not about a number on a scale, but whether or not your weight affects your overall health, and my BMI is right where it needs to be. So why am I not satisfied with all of this information? Why am I now resolving to loose 10 more pounds?


Because society dictates that women should be thin, and I'm beginning to think that no matter what weight I am, I'm never going to be really satisfied. It should be a victory, that I have kept the weight I lost off for two years, but instead I yearn to impress myself with more. I want to know in my head that I have reached that magic number and that the size jeans I am wearing reflect that. It's a psychological and emotional issue for me, and I think I will never fully understand it.


It's a constant battle.


It's like death and taxes.


And it's always there, in the back of my thin thinking mind.

Thursday, September 29, 2011

Scenes From The Life Of A Sports Fan

EXT: Boston living room, in front of TV-Wednesday night, September 28, 2011


This entire exchange takes place via text message between FANNY and DANNY.


While watching RED SOX play in a do or die game, with the RED SOX leading the ORIOLES late in the seventh inning 3-2, the game goes into a rain delay.




7:42 PM EST


FANNY: We have the game on the TV and the iPad on his lap with the Yanks/Tampa game going. This sh*t is crazee..


DANNY: (Danny is in Las Vegas) I'm at work! Can you stand that?


FANNY: Nothing to report except the yanks are up 1-0 top of second. we are scoreless in the top of second.


DANNY: I have game cast but not same. Going to sports book at 5 to watch.


FANNY: I'll keep you posted until then.




8:08 PM EST


FANNY: Texiteriaiaaiaia just hit a grand slam! Yanks 5-0!!




8:25 PM EST


FANNY: Fu*k


DANNY: Yup


FANNY: OK yes


DANNY: I can barely breathe


FANNY: this is NOT fun


DANNY: same score with the yanks


FANNY: yup




9:16 PM EST


FANNY: that was magic


DANNY: What????


FANNY: Lester walks the first two batters of the inning and Scuataro made an unbelievable play for the double play




9:38 PM EST


FANNY: rain delay! do you believe this sh*t??? I can hardly stand that its the 7th. i may KILL myself if i have to wait.


DANNY: unbelievable really, it's like us jews. have to suffer for everything.


FANNY: on Roshoshanna(SP)to boot!




10:04 PM EST


DANNY: Ai did yanks win?


FANNY: Not yet. Yanks tampa 7-2 bottom of 8th


FANNY: Sorry 7-6 bottom of 8th Longoria hit 3 run HR


FANNY: 2outs tying run on base


DANNY:Omg please let the yankees gold on


DANNY: hold




10:47 PM EST


DANNY: Rays tied it up


FANNY:what??????

FANNY: ahhhhh! Noooooooo!

DANNY: nightmare

DANNY: they were one pitch away


FANNY: I'm suckaring someone


DANNY: I'm sick




11:03 PM EST RED SOX game has resumed play


DANNY: every pitch is like a pitchfork to my heart.


FANNY: that SUCKED




11:20 pm EST


FANNY: Papelbon.please be on tonite.


FANNY: Lord.


FANNY: I prominse ill never...


FANNY: if you just see to it...


DANNY: I can barely watch.


DANNY: is pap on?


DANNY: please jesus


12:00 AM EST


FANNY: oh God


FANNY: this is excurciating


DANNY: painful


DANNY: my stomach is in knots


FANNY:Oh please


FANNY: nice


DANNY:oh


FANNY: take us home now


DANNY:oh no


FANNY: JD drew SUCKS


DANNY: drama always


FANNY: all kkkkkkkk's now


FANNY: KKKKKKKKK


DANNY:I think the rays are in scoring position


DANNY: I can't breathe


FANNY: Dan, i can't do this. I'm DYING


DANNY: I could cry like a baby.


FANNY: OK, lets not die. Just finish the inning now.


DANNY: It's like I'm watching from outside my own body & mind





then Papelbon LOST the RED SOX game.


FANNY: this SUCKS


FANNY: over


FANNY: im sick and I wanna die and I'm going to bed


DANNY: now we need the yanks to win


FANNY: I'm out


FANNY:they don't deserve it


DANNY: collapse of a great team


FANNY: I HATE THEM


DANNY: the rays might as well win