Showing posts with label Quandry. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Quandry. Show all posts

Thursday, July 24, 2014

Assume The Wet Nail Position


 I am a huge fan of the pedicure. Nothing is more pleasing than pretty, well polished hands that are just painted...and dry. Is there nothing worse than waiting for your wet nails to dry? The 15-20 minutes in between wet and dry nails is complete hell for me. Having just got back from a successful trip to the nail shop, I wondered if I was the only one who feels this way?

 Sure enough, the Internet was full of ladies claiming the same "20 minute wait from hell" that I was. These are the things we can all agree on:

  • The second your nails are complete, as in freshly painted, undoubtedly you will have to go to the bathroom. The realization that you will not be able to complete this necessary and mundane task until at least 30 minutes after your nails are dry...MAKES YOU HAVE TO GO EVEN MORE!
  • Your just quiet cell phone suddenly blows up with texts and calls from your friends and loved ones. You sit there completely paralyzed with helplessness-lest you ruin that $18.00 service you just paid for. In that case, the extreme is in order..IT CAN WAIT!
  • After what seems is a reasonable amount of time, you give yourself the "tap test". This is lightly tapping one nail on top of the other. If it's sticky, you are not done. If it's not sticky, you are generally good to go. Armed with a new found confidence that your nails are dry, you reach into your bag for that all important cell phone or car key only to smudge your nails...NEVER TRUST THE TAP TEST!
  • If you have successfully retrieved your cell phone so that you can Instagram or Facebook a picture of your freshly painted, gorgeous manicure to share with friends, holding your cell phone for the nail selfie will undoubtedly cause a nick or smudge...NO NAIL SELFIES FOR AT LEAST 30 MINUTES AFTER.
  • "Fast Dry Nail Coats" and "Fast Dry Sprays" will work only slightly....DON'T FALL FOR IT.
There are so many methods out there to speed up the process, but do they really work? It would seem that while you are speeding up the nail dry process, you are indeed waiting...amiright?

These look like a genius little tool:



Nail Polish Protectors?
They are supposed to protect those freshly painted nails so that you can get out and into your car, put on your coat or talk on the phone while protecting your new manicure. Not sure if they work or how I feel about them, but it's nice to know they are out there. 

Bottom line: there is no fool proof way to secure a "quick dry"  manicure. Aside from the Gel manicure, that cures on your nails after exposure to UV light, which takes a lot more time and is a lot more $$, there is no magic, quick dry cure. Plan for the time to complete the task. Relax and enjoy the break form your crazy life. Plain and simple. After all, aren't most manicures a "spa" service? 

I say enjoy the spa time. 

Tuesday, December 28, 2010

The Queen Of Quandary

I am the Queen of Quandary. Somehow, someway, I usually find myself backed into a difficult situation that I have no idea how to get out of. How did I get myself there? I usually try to make every one happy, which by now I should know, never works and usually ends up in a shi* storm.

I entered into that shi* storm today and here I am trying my best to climb out of it. What do you do when you try to fit a square peg into a round hole?? The quandary here, is that I offered a job to someone, who out of loyalty, squeezed me into their busy schedule. Then, just before the job was about to begin, I found someone who had no schedule constraints. Now what do I do???

I know that the original person was actually squeezing me in out of loyalty, and that the other person is perfect for the job and has no schedule conflicts. Here's where I FAIL as a person and an employer. I don't want to rumple any feathers, yet I don't need both people. Somebody has to go, and I feel terrible.

Long story short, I left it up to both players to figure it out, like a coward would do, and now I have a bigger shi* storm than when I started, and too many people to do a one man job. What the HELL is wrong with me? I've now got to fix this problem I created.

SO bloggers, you think you got the answer? What would you do?