Showing posts with label Oops. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Oops. Show all posts

Thursday, September 25, 2014

Sweet Nothings


It's a fickle time that we live in. The man pictured above may not be known to you, unless you live in Massachusetts. Charlie Baker is a local politician who is running for Governor. His opponent is Martha Coakley, the Attorney General. It's a tight race, but according to WBUR , Martha holds a 10 point lead over Baker. With a month to go before the vote, every moment must be analyzed and calculated. Polls, people and photo-ops are the stuff that wins elections and the candidates know it.

That's why Charlie may have just committed political suicide by uttering one sentence-on camera. Charlie Baker made a huge error when he did something I do quite frequently. Something the President himself has done and something that may well be innocent, but not in these times. Not today.

Charlie Baker was asked a question the other day by local Fox 25 reporter Sharman Sacchetti on camera, His response was, "OK, this is the last one sweetheart." Immediately, Sacchetti responded with "Sweetheart?" The local news had a field day with it and the sound bite ran on loop on all the major news stations. A female journalist dubbed it a "sexist slip-up" and others criticized the comment as "degrading towards women".  Charlie immediately put out a statement then called Sharman Sacchetti and apologized for the error.

“I apologize to Sharman, as she is an accomplished professional and someone who I have come to both respect and consider a friend,” Baker said in a statement.

He then commented;

“I did call Sharman last night, apologized and she was gracious enough to accept my apology. My comment was a mistake and certainly doesn't represent my work, my attitude or what I am all about,” he said, according to Baker’s campaign manager Tim Buckley.

 Oh Charlie, these are not good times.

What he did was foolish, yes it was. But do I believe that Charlie was being sexist, or worse demeaning to a woman? I'm not quite sure. I have to admit that I use the term "honey" or "sweetie" more often than not when having pleasant conversation with people who I may or may not know. In fact I do it a lot, and I've decided that it may be received the opposite of the way it was intended. I need to be aware of NOT using the term. Case in point Charlie Baker. While my mother, grandmother and Charlie's relatives may use the term freely when conversing, they aren't running for public office or working with the masses.

I guess what I'm trying to say is WE need to learn to whisper no sweet nothing.



Thursday, June 5, 2014

Goin' To The Chapel



Wedded bliss. A celebration of love. Weddings are a huge day in the life of two people who pledge to unite in love forever. Guest come and wish the couple well with toasts that bestow wisdom and blessings. It is a cause for celebration and a memory for the ages. Yes, marriage can be a great send off to the rest of your life.

But what if it's not what you thought it was going to be? What happens when-you know- like you know deep in the pit of your soul- that the decision to marry is not right? And you confide your fears to people you love and trust, listen to their advice, then convince yourself that you are doing it for all the right reasons. Because you convince yourself that you can't get out of it. Then what? Do you then become a statistic? And the "how long is this gonna last?" pool begins amongst your closest allies. Sorry, but we all saw this coming a mile away.

What happens when you cry, like a lot? And you are really not into the whole planning thing and you start drinking, like a lot, and lounging on the sofa way too long and sort of give up. It's probably a warning sign that this "wedding thing" is not for you. Is there pressure from your partner? From your family? Financial obligations involved in the wedding? I'm thinking you gotta play the "in the long run" game. What stings now will soon heal. And believe me-you are not the first one to feel this way. I looked this whole phenomenon up today and the best quote I read was, "If you have to ask the question, 'Should I be getting married?', I think you know what the answer is."

Weddings are not for the faint of heart and quite possibly not for you.

At this time.....

Thursday, January 23, 2014

Baby, Baby, Baby, OH!




The Biebs got arrested..

Big news on the radio as I was driving to work today. Evidently he was drag racing his yellow Lambo while under the influence of something. The press is having a field day with this latest infraction. It's like the vultures are circling now waiting for his demise. 

I say not smart ever-especially when you're Justin Bieber. 

BUT-really? Big news? Ya maybe if you're TMZ or E! but broadcasting live on every news channel? This is really not hard news worthy enough to have his mug shot streaming over the AP. Here's the thing...

He's 19! The kid is 19 years old and has lived a lifetime already. Tons of money and lived a pampered life. The life of a rock star who can pretty much do anything he wants to pretty much any day. But he's still a kid. Listen, I'm not condoning drag racing while you're hopped up on something but I get that a 19 year old would. 

My nephew got arrested for drag racing at about the same age in Small Town, USA- I don't recall his mug shot plastered all over the AP. Or the local PTO meeting either, and believe me, those suburban moms can talk... They didn't because either their kids did it too or they came dangerously close. Too close. 

It just proves that The Biebs, while being the biggest pop star on the planet, is still just a kid. A boy who likes his toys. It just so happens that he can afford the best. 

Yes, it's extremely dangerous.
Yes, it's foolish and childish.
And yes, it's not how a role model should behave. Ever. 

But it doesn't warrant the "bring down the Biebs" campaign that the press has been waging. 

Maybe all that's warranted here is a time out. His mom should ground him for a month and take his keys away. Done.

Just like every other parent of a 19 year old in the good old U S of A.