Showing posts with label Questions and Answers. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Questions and Answers. Show all posts

Thursday, September 13, 2012

Through Egg Colored Glasses



Listen, I OWN up to my shi*. If I make a mistake I will tell you I made a mistake, ask for forgiveness and move on. Even and especially if I made a mistake, and I will do my best to rectify the situation.

But this one left me with egg on my face and it wasn't my mistake. I was duped. Oprah didn't guest host GMA..She was on for a mere 10 minutes at most, and she was in New Orleans?. What gives here? Now I'm thinking, where did I hear that Oprah was guest hosting today? I must have heard it on GMA,  where else?  I then think, "am I loosing it?" A quick internet search pulls up:

 "Jessica Simpson, 32, was the first special guest host to replace Robin ...Some of the guests include Diane Sawyer, Katie Couric, Oprah Winfrey, and Kelly Ripa. ... All in all, Jessica fitted right in with the "GMA"crew. Oprah Winfrey and the Kardashian sisters will co-host on Thursday, September 13, 2012."

I think they even advertised and teased Oprah as a co-host today. So not me-THEM- have egg on their face. Whatever...just wanted to set the record straight.



Did you hear about the bank robbers in California who threw their heist of cash out a car window during a high speed pursuit by police yesterday?


The thieves allegedly threw the cash into the streets in a filed bid to block the roads with people. Hundreds of onlookers flooded the streets and started picking up the money in a frenzy. The 90 minute police chase came to an abrupt halt when a truck blocked the stolen car's path and police and onlookers swarmed the stopped get away car. Police had a difficult time controlling the crowd, but managed to detain the suspects.

Can you imagine walking down the street and seeing a car speeding dangerously down the road with a ton of money flying out the window?

 I'm thinking after the initial shock, I would too, be grabbing the cash and stuffing it into my pockets as quickly as possible. Thankyouverymuch...

The question is, would you feel guilty for taking the money? I would probably worry that the cops were going to find me and tell me I have to pay it all back and then I would worry that the money was all bad luck karma and think that it brought me bad omens and  bad luck. But that's just me.

What would you feel, bloggers?


Friday, July 9, 2010

Q& A With A Basketball Fan

Q: So Candy, what did you think of Lebron James' "Big Announcement" last night?

A: I'm so surprised by all the hoopla. And I don't mean that tongue and cheek. Really? Is my life effected by last night's big announcement that Lebron will sign with the Miami Heat? Yes and no.

Q: Yes and No? How so?

A: No. I really don't give a good Goddamn where King James chooses to play the rest of his years out. BUT, will it effect my life? Maybe. Come next June when the Celtics are in the playoffs, maybe I will care when Boston has to face the stacked Miami Heat in the playoffs. I cannot lie.

Q: Are you worried about the prospect of a new "Big Three" (James, Wade and Bosh) in the Eastern Conference?

A: Listen, if James were coming to the Celtics, this would be a much different post. But the fact of the matter is, three years ago I felt the same electricity the people of Miami are feeling right now. AND we have a World Championship to prove it. Am I worried? Sort of. Do I blame Lebron for wanting a World Championship? No. How could I? The supposed Best Player in the NBA has shocked the world by leaving Cleveland and let's face it, the dude didn't have the team behind him to take home the banner. So he has made a decision to put himself in the best position to be part of a championship team. It's what little boys dream of and fans alike. No, Lebron James has a dream. I don't blame him at all.

Q: Do you think the Heat will dominate the league now?

A: Maybe. Only time will tell. If they don't there are going to be a lot of people who will love every minute of it.

Q: Do you think Lebron is worthy of all the hype?

A: Look, I am a Celtic's fan first, and all other b-ball played throughout the season is a highlight on Sports Center or a blurb in my beloved Boston Herald. Lebron is an above average player who has not yet realized his potential. If that is measured in World Championships, then he has been a huge disappointment. But he is no Michael Jordan. Sorry. The press and the drama surrounding this announcement has been nothing short of ridiculous. AND no, I did not watch it live. I have been listening all week to sports radio and by Tuesday I was already over the whole thing. I love basketball as much as the next guy, but James is nothing more than over rated in my book. If he makes an impact then I will be the first to eat those words. As much as it pains me to say this, I think Kobe is a better player. James is nasty on the outside shot and making the drive to the hoop but Kobe's got the whole package. And don't think I enjoy admitting that.

Q: You mean King James dosen't deserve that title?

A: Lebron has won the league MVP for the last two years but has he made an impact and transcended the game like Michael Jordan? No. Not even close. Just my opinion. When Jordan was playing he "floated like a butterfly and stung like a bee". You know where I am going with this...James has to prove himself to hold Jordan's jock strap. For sure.

Q: Candy, tell us how you really feel?

A: Sick. Really Lebron? Why couldn't you have just announced it with your new teammates, Wade and Bosh. I gotta ask you, who the hell do you think you are? The King?
Make no mistake, there was only one King and he died sitting on the hopper on August 16th, 1977.