Showing posts with label Kids. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Kids. Show all posts
Tuesday, September 22, 2015
I Was Just Thinking...
I saw this picture of Paris Jackson today and it got me to thinking about Michael Jackson's kids and where they are now. You know how a picture or a story gets you thinking about people that really aren't in your realm of life, yet you can't stop wondering what happened to them?
A quick internet check on Paris finds the 17 year-old beauty seemingly happy and attending a private boarding school in Utah. She certainly has turned out to be a beautiful young lady, and social media pictures show her to be dating.
Her 18 year-old boyfriend, Chester Castellaw, is a soccer player for the Real So Cal youth soccer club. When not away at school she resides with her grandmother, Katherine Jackson and cousin Tito in California and her two brothers. She seems to be doing much better since her reported suicide attempt when she was 15.
Her brother Prince Michael also seems to be faring well.
The Loyola Marymount student, 18, is focusing his studies on a career in film and television. Reportedly a great student, Prince is said to be committed to his studies and focused on receiving a degree. Good thing because as the heir of his father's vast estate, he will need a good head on his shoulders to navigate all that entails. Talk about pressure. Let's keep our fingers crossed he stays the course. I think it would be a great testament to his late father.
Last, is their brother, Prince Michael II, "Blanket" who is 13.
Reportedly bullied for his name "Blanket", he changed his name to Bigi Jackson. Blanket, as he was known by his family, is said to be quiet, funny, respectful and helpful to others. Here's hoping he can live a somewhat normal teen aged life.
After reading and reporting all of that, I am left to wonder why I care? But strangely I do care-Michael Jackson's children were the young and innocents caught in the madness that was his life. I could be wrong, but it looks like his mother is doing a good job raising his children. And as I said before, it would be nice if despite it all, the 3 kids turned out to be decent, happy and successful adults. As a parent, that's the best you can hope for.
Monday, January 6, 2014
My Three Sons
While I was on vacation in Puerto Rico last week, (which was FAB-u-lous) I found myself at a New Years Eve celebration in the hotel with lots of happy families, happy people and music. I spyed a group of kids sitting on a sofa together. They were adorable. There were two boys age 14 and 13, two little girls-11 and 10 along with their baby brother who was 4- and was sleeping soundly on the sofa. Being a helicopter mom myself, I continued to watch the kids through the celebration right through the magic time that 2013 had turned into 2014. The girls were dancing and playing with noise makers, giggling and enjoying a festive evening being included in the adult activities. The boys stayed put, almost watching guard over their baby brother who was sleeping right through the party that was taking place around them.
I couldn't help myself.
I sat down next to the group at the sofa and began chatting with them. Affable, intelligent and way off the cutie chart, the kids and I enjoyed the normal conversation exchanges. "Where are you from? How old are you? etc." We were having a great time talking, as each one enjoyed their moment in the spotlight, explaining who they were and their ages. Their step-dad had gone to UMass, they told me and they stated that a trip to Boston is something they would like to do someday. The conversation then naturally turned to school. The boy to my left, Gabrielle, explained that they were from a town in Puerto Rico about an hour away but were there at the hotel for the week enjoying a family vacation. I asked them when they were returning to school, to which they replied "Jan 13th". "Why so late?", I inquired. Frack was slated to go back on Jan 3rd. They explained that the return was normal; it was in observance of Three King's Day.
I had never heard of this.
I had heard of people leaving their Christmas trees up until Jan 6th, because of "little Christmas" as they called it, but I never understood that this little Christmas they spoke of was the one my new friends were explaining to me. They kids told me it was just as big as Christmas to them and that the three Kings brought them just as many presents as Santa. "The Feast of the Epiphany", or "Three Kings Day" falls on January 6th and marks the biblical visit of the three wise men or The Magi, to the baby Jesus. It is the anticipation of this day by children mainly in Latin America and Spain that my new little friends spoke of.
"According to the Gospel of Matthew, the men found the divine child by following the North Star across the desert for twelve days to Bethlehem. Melchior, Caspar, and Balthazar -- representing Europe, Arabia, and Africa respectively -- travelled by horse, camel, and elephant in order to present baby Jesus with three symbolic gifts."
Anyone who has ever been to my house, my mom's house or anyone in my immediate family's home, would find displays of the Magi (the three wise men) all over the house. And not just at Christmas. My mother was given a prayer by a priest when she was a little girl in homage to the Three Kings. It is to be said three times and is described as a very effective prayer. My mom believes, and always has, that the three Kings are the bearers of good fortune. My brothers and sisters and I all posses this prayer and many displays of the Magi in our surroundings. How could I have not known about Three Kings Day??
Today when I woke up, I thought about the kids I had shared that enjoyable conversation with in the early hours of 2014. I though about them putting grass and water out for the wise men's camels in anticipation of their arrival and I thought about them enjoying a wonderful day with their family. I don't think those adorable kids had any idea of the impression they left on me, but I carried it with me right through to today.
Happy Three King's day to them and all of you! I hope that the Magi continues to bring all of us good fortune all the year through!
Labels:
Children,
Happy,
Holiday,
Holidays,
Kids,
The Holy Magi,
Three Wise Men,
Vacation
Tuesday, February 26, 2013
Lil Poopy Got Some Gangsta Swagga
Meet Lil Poopy. A nine year old from Brockton, MA, his Lil story is all over the morning papers.
Seems this nine year old rapping prodigy created quite a stir on youtube a few months back, singing about being a "coke boy". Seems Lil Poopy raps about being a "cocaine cowboy", Gucci, Louis Vuitton and other nine year-old staples like guns and "hoes".
Lil Poopy was discovered by rapper French Montana, and claims to be his mentor. Poopy is one of his Coke Boyz posse, and is on his label, Cocaine City Records. So was he the one who taught him to slap the buxom bottoms of women and flash large wads of cash with his bling bling? Cuz whoever did that is in big trouble today.
Brockton Police put their "pimp hand" down when they flagged the family to the MA Department of Children and Families with a child abuse claim. Lil Poopy's dad, Luie Rivera of Brockton is under investigation for neglect and abuse. And get this, the guy thinks that "there aint nuthin wrong with what he's doin". Daddy told the Boston Herald last night. "Hip-hop is like the WWE- it's all fake," Rivera said. "Back in the beginning what you were rapping about you were really doing. Now it's all an act."
An act that turns out is a dangerous play date. As the Boston Herald's Margery Eagan brilliantly points out this morning, "Lil Poopy calls himself a "cocaine coyboy". How long until he asks to sample the product?"
Indeed. It's inevitable.
Good thing Johnny Law is on the case. At least there's a slight chance they may save this kid.
I doubt it, though. The money and the fame and the drugs are all too real.......in this fake act.
Labels:
Celebrities,
Craziness,
Kids,
Money,
Rappers,
Shocking,
Unbelievable,
What Do You Think?,
Why?
Thursday, July 19, 2012
Stop It....
Really? Honey, no way. Poor kid.
Everyone had a great time at the party. Especially Rex the dog.
This is a huge win in my book. My kids would be pumped!
Unfortunately I'm not that cool. Sorry Frick and Frack.
C'mon now, this is funny...
I'm still laughing at this one...Bwahahahahaha!!
I had to make this one big so you could see it. From babes...truth. Children learn what they live.
Labels:
Epic Fail,
Funny,
Kids,
My Kids,
People Are Stupid,
Power Of The People
Friday, March 9, 2012
What The?
Hey bloggers! It's Friday and over here at The Daily Dandy that usually means a fun and frivolous send off to the weekend. Not today.Today I am turning the tables and taking a completely serious tone with the topic. I read about this and I'm shocked at how modern technology has turned something as innocent and pure as cinnamon into a what could be a lethal substance.
I'm talking about the viral craze called the "Cinnamon Challenge". Crazy? For sure.
The Cinnamon Challenge is dangerous and absurd. Defined as a "dare game", the participant's challenge is to swallow 1 teaspoon of pure cinnamon without water and without inhaling or vomiting for one minute. The result is a viral world of Youtube video posts with people coughing out enormous bursts of brown smoke. In some cases the coughing is so severe, the participant has extreme difficulty catching their breath. And asthmatics? Forget about it.
I found this little tidbit while trolling the interwebs:
"To understand the potency of cinnamon, ponder this: Cinnamaldehyde, the organic compound that gives the spice its distinctive flavor, is used as a pesticide and fungicide. It’s strong enough to kill little things, for heaven’s sake. The EPA warns of acute dermal toxicity; acute oral toxicity; eye irritation; dermal irritation and dermal sensitization. Granted, this is just a component of cinnamon used in concentration, but still, this demure seasoning clearly has a wicked side."
Judge for yourself this Jackass prank that seems to be sweeping our youth. By posting this I am in no way endorsoing this challenge. You gotta see this to believe it because it's really sad.
Have a great weekend bloggers. Try not to huff anything.
Labels:
Freaky Friday,
Friday,
Interesting,
Kids,
Stupidity,
Video,
We Are All Stupid,
World Wide Web,
YouTube
Tuesday, February 14, 2012
Who Is Smarter Than A Second Grader?
WHY GOD MADE MOMSAnswers given by 2nd Grade school children to the following questions:
Why did God make mothers?
1. She's the only one who knows where the scotch tape is.
2. Mostly to clean the house.
3. To help us out of there when we were getting born.
How did God make mothers?
1. He used dirt, just like for the rest of us.
2. Magic plus super powers and a lot of stirring.
3. God made my mom just the same like he made me. He just used bigger parts.
What ingredients are mothers made of?
1. God makes mothers out of clouds and angel hair and everything nice in the world and one dab of mean.
2. They had to get their start from men's bones. Then they mostly use string, I think.
Why did God give you your mother and not some other mom?
1. We're related.
2. God knew she likes me a lot more than other people's mom like me.
What kind of a little girl was your mom?
1. My mom has always been my mom and none of that other stuff.
2. I don't know because I wasn't there, but my guess would be pretty bossy.
3. They say she used to be nice.
What did mom need to know about dad before she married him?
1. His last name.
2. She had to know his background. Like is he a crook? Does he get drunk on beer?
3. Does he make at least $800 a year? Did he say NO to drugs and YES to chores?
Why did your mom marry your dad?
1. My dad makes the best spaghetti in the world. And my mom eats a lot.
2. She got too old to do anything else with him.
3. My grandma says that mom didn't have her thinking cap on.
Who's the boss at your house?
1. Mom doesn't want to be boss, but she has to because dad's such a goof ball.
2. Mom. You can tell by room inspection. She sees the stuff under the bed.
3. I guess mom is, only because she has a lot more to do than dad.
What's the difference between moms and dads?
1. Moms work at work and work at home and dads just go to work at work.
2. Moms know how to talk to teachers without scaring them.
3. Dads are taller and stronger, but moms have all the real power 'cause that's who you got to ask if you want to sleep over at your friends.
4. Moms have magic, they make you feel better without medicine.
What does your mom do in her spare time?
1. Mothers don't do spare time.
2. To hear her tell it, she pays bills all day long.
What would it take to make your mom perfect?
1. On the inside she's already perfect. Outside, I think some kind of plastic surgery.
2. Diet. You know, her hair. I'd diet, maybe blue.
If you could change one thing about your mom, what would it be?
1. She has this weird thing about me keeping my room clean. I'd get rid of that.
2. I'd make my mom smarter. Then she would know it was my sister who did it not me.
3. I would like for her to get rid of those invisible eyes on the back of her head.
Labels:
Busy Blogger,
Funny,
Kids,
Mom stuff,
Motherhood
Friday, September 2, 2011
Friday Funny
Little Billy came home from school to see the family's pet rooster dead in the front yard. Rigor mortis had set in and it was flat on its back with its legs in the air. When his Dad came home Billy said, "Dad our roosters dead and his legs are sticking in the air. Why are his legs sticking in the air?"
His father thinking quickly said, "Son, that's so God can reach down from the clouds and lift the rooster straight up to heaven."
"Gee Dad that's great," said little Billy. A few days later, when Dad came home from work, Billy rushed out to meet him yelling, "Dad, Dad we almost lost Mom today!"
"What do you mean?" said Dad.
"Well Dad, I got home from school early today and went up to your bedroom and there was Mom flat on her back with her legs in the air screaming, "Jesus I'm coming, I'm coming" If it hadn't of been for Uncle George holding her down we'd have lost her for sure!"
Labels:
Dirty Jokes,
Friday,
Funny,
Jokes,
Kids
Thursday, May 26, 2011
Keep Your Hands Off
So my son showed me this last night and I thought it was hilarious.
Little man got some tude. Love it!
Little man got some tude. Love it!
Labels:
Commercials,
CUT IT OUT,
Funny,
Funny Ad,
Kids,
Video
Thursday, May 12, 2011
Cute Corner
So let's file this under "cute".
Gotta love a five year old little girl who can keep it under control during a crisis and still worry about fashion.
Thursday, January 27, 2011
Today's Special: Kiddie Crows Feet
Walmart, besides being home to my favorite crayzee's, will launch a new line of cosmetics for the Tween set, girls aged 8-12 called GeoGirl.
Cute? Yes. Crazy? Maybe.
People like me, proprietors of cosmetic products, should be squealing with delight at the prospect of this little gem aimed at tweens, as it makes future cosmetic buyers in training. This equates to future loyal cosmetic customers. All good right?
But something about this seems wrong. Maybe it's what's offered in the line of products that has me in a tizzie. The line boasts to using all natural ingredients like chamomile, lavender and white willow bark to exfoliate and antioxidants. (which fight free radicals-pollutants found in the air) This all seems a little mature, wouldn't you say?
A cleanser? I'm all for that. Learning to take proper care of you skin is a valuable thing and anything that helps young girls start properly cleansing their skin I'm endorsing, but a "mineral blush, liquid2power shadow, feather-lash mascara and a face shimmer". A face shimmer? Why does an eight year old's face need to shimmer? And a feather mascara? What's next? Diamond encrusted false eyelashes? And for the soccer set, matching team color blushes and lip sticks?
Listen, I realize that little girls will always want to experiment with make-up like thier moms, but I'm thinking that that's where it should stay. We run the risk here of sending a message to these girls that they would look better with feather lush lashes, than without.
I think skin care is fine, but when you start training at 8 them to wear mascara, bronzer and eye shadow we quietly create an entire generation of 10 year old Tammy Faye Baker types.
"Susie, it's time to get the bus for school."
"Ok mom, let me just finish putting my face on."
Not good.
Labels:
Kids,
Make-up,
Rediculous,
Silly,
Wal Mart Crazees,
What is THAT?,
Why?
Wednesday, December 29, 2010
Kid's Got Chutzpah!
So it's a slow blogging week, everybody laying off the keyboards and hitting up the dessert table, I think. I can't say that I blame them.
My brain is fried and I'm enjoying some time off too, so I dedcided to make you laugh today. I know you've all seen this at one time or another, so enjoy it again.
My favorite part is when she giggles at her mom giggling at her. I love her! I wouldn't mess with her...
My brain is fried and I'm enjoying some time off too, so I dedcided to make you laugh today. I know you've all seen this at one time or another, so enjoy it again.
My favorite part is when she giggles at her mom giggling at her. I love her! I wouldn't mess with her...
Labels:
Funny,
Kick-Ass,
Kids,
Lazy Blogger,
Monsters,
Slow blogging day,
Video
Friday, November 12, 2010
Friday Funny
Overheard from my Big Brown Teamster making deliveries at my store yesterday:"What kind of stories do Teamsters read to their kids at night?
Bedtime and a HALF stories."
Happy weekend and a half, bloggers.
Monday, November 1, 2010
Kids Think The Damnedest Things.
This has got to be the greatest stuff I have seen in a long time... I love kids.


















Friday, May 28, 2010
Is It Wrong That I'm Jealous?
Of course it's wrong!!! Sometimes I don't even recognize myself....
I'm sure you've seen this by now. It's the most insane thing I have ever seen!
Yet, I find myself longingly watching this kid's technique. He's got it down.
It's so disturbing and wrong, yet I can't look away. He reportedly smokes 40 cigarettes a day which amounts to a two pack a day habbit. Sounds pretty expensive, and super bad for this child's health, but his father says, "I don't see the problem".
And I still can't look away.
It's just so rediculous, that I'm mesmerized by the image of this child smoking a cigarette. It's so crazy watching this baby smoke and I know by posting it here, watching it over and over again I am contributing to the glorification of this tragedy.
Yet I can't stop myself. May God bless us both!
Happy Memorial day weekend bloggers! Lay off the butts this weekend, if you can.
I'm sure you've seen this by now. It's the most insane thing I have ever seen!
Yet, I find myself longingly watching this kid's technique. He's got it down.
It's so disturbing and wrong, yet I can't look away. He reportedly smokes 40 cigarettes a day which amounts to a two pack a day habbit. Sounds pretty expensive, and super bad for this child's health, but his father says, "I don't see the problem".
And I still can't look away.
It's just so rediculous, that I'm mesmerized by the image of this child smoking a cigarette. It's so crazy watching this baby smoke and I know by posting it here, watching it over and over again I am contributing to the glorification of this tragedy.
Yet I can't stop myself. May God bless us both!
Happy Memorial day weekend bloggers! Lay off the butts this weekend, if you can.
Labels:
Insane,
Kicking the habit,
Kids,
Quitting smoking,
Video,
What are the odds?,
What is THAT?
Thursday, May 20, 2010
Little Fanilow
I was in Paris last fall with two of my bestest friends in the world. We were walking on the streets in the great City of Lights on a gorgeous day, singing. The conversation somehow turned to Barry Manilow. (I think we were singing Copacabana) My girlfriend told me that die hard Manilow fans called themselves "Fanilow's".
I nearly split a gut laughing.
Yesterday she sent this to me and I think I'm in love.
This kid's definitely got a career ahead of him....if he can loose the little sister.
I nearly split a gut laughing.
Yesterday she sent this to me and I think I'm in love.
This kid's definitely got a career ahead of him....if he can loose the little sister.
Thursday, July 30, 2009
Smart-Ass Kids
My sister sent me this and I had to chuckle because my kids are just THIS smart. Brilliant, really. My mom always said that God is good and just and we would get ours when our time came...How right she was.A father passing by his son's bedroom was astonished to see that his bed was nicely made and everything was picked up. Then he saw an envelope, propped up prominently on the pillow that was addressed to 'Dad.'
With the worst premonition he opened the envelope with trembling hands and read the letter.
Dear Dad:
It is with great regret and sorrow that I'm writing you. I had to elope with my new girlfriend because I wanted to avoid a scene with Mom and you.
I have been finding real passion with Stacy and she is so nice. But I knew you would not approve of her because of all her piercing, tattoos, tight motorcycle clothes and the fact that she is much older than I am.
But it' s not only the passion...Dad she's pregnant. Stacy said that we will be very happy. She owns a trailer in the woods and has a stack of firewood for the whole winter. We share a dream of having many more children.
Stacy has opened my eyes to the fact that marijuana doesn't really hurt anyone. We'll be growing it for ourselves and trading it with the other people that live nearby for cocaine and ecstasy.
In the meantime we will pray that science will find a cure for AIDS so Stacy can get better. She deserves it.
Don't worry Dad. I'm 15 and I know how to take care of myself.
Someday I'm sure that we will be back to visit so that you can get to know your grandchildren.
Love,
Your Son John
PS. Dad, none of the above is true. I'm over at Tommy's house.
I just wanted to remind you that there are worse things in life than the Report card that's in my center desk drawer. I love you.
Call me when it's safe to come home.
Thursday, December 11, 2008
Sibling Rivalry

Frick and Frack are at it again and I am at my wits end! My kids are 19 months apart and the only siblings each other has. Wouldn't you think there would be some semblance of brotherly sisterly love? Not a chance. Not with these two. The problem is that neither one has the least amount of tolerance for the other. She's 14 and a freshman in High School and he is 12 and a 7th grade middle schooler. Two completely different worlds and they fight like a couple of 3 year olds.
For years, around this time of year, the old, "Santa is watching" used to do the trick beautifully. Now they are wiser, meaner and know that all that Santa crap is a bunch of bull. They have even resorted to physical retaliation,which I will not tolerate, and name calling from time to time. She, being the oldest, I have explained to her, needs to set the example. We have had many conversations about karma and that her brother's behavior is mostly a reflection of the "mean" that she projects at him. I might as well be talking to the wall because she's not listening. She repeats the "he's so annoying" mantra over and over until the words become her reality. He is the youngest and complains that "she hates me so I hate her" there bye completing the vicious circle. (and I do mean vicious) He has even asked me why she hates him so much. Heartbreaking, I know.
I have to say I can relate to his angst. Being the youngest of five, all I wanted was love and attention from my older brother, my closest sibling in age. He was BRUTAL to me and I had the bruises to prove it. He saw me as nothing more than the annoying little sister he believed I was and he tortured me for it. My greatest weapon against him was,"I'm gonna tell mom". Yup, worked like a charm although I very rarely told on him. I wanted him to love me and I knew that going to mom would effectively put an end to that. The threat was all I needed and when I felt imminent danger, you bet I would use it. The moral of that story is that now, as adults, he is possibly one of my best friends and my go-to-guy on a lot of things. As for these two? I really wonder.
Take for example this exchange last week while I was in another country.
CELL PHONE RINGING IN LOUD CASINO
ME: Hello?
HER: Mom, He is in your room and we (her TWO friends) want to watch a movie and He won't let us.
ME: What? (placing my finger in my ear to hear better) Why are you and your friends in my room? (this NEVER happens-almost of the time they are holed up in her room and rarely come out, except to eat-we call her room The Den)
HER: We want to watch a movie and the Babysitter is watching TV in the family room so we can only watch it in your room and He is in there and won't let us.
ME: (now walking away from a hot blackjack table and I hand I just lost because I walked away) Can't you all watch the movie together?
HER: No way mom! We don't want him around.
ME: He was there first and does not have two friends over so either you let Him watch the movie with you or you go back to your room and leave Him alone.
HER: Mom! That's so NOT fair! There are three of us and we need to lay on the bed.
ME: So ask him nicely if he will move over to the sofa.
HER: He won't mom! He's being annoying.
ME: (because I know her so well) Did you ask Him or did you tell Him?
HER: I asked him mom, and he won't.
ME: Let me talk to your brother.
HIM: (annoyed) Mom, she comes in here and starts bossing me around and telling me to leave.
ME: I will deal with that when I come home. As for now, she has agreed to watch a movie with all of you together. Would you mind moving over to the sofa so that you and the three girls can all watch the movie comfortably?
HIM: I don't want to watch a movie. I want to got to bed and you said I could sleep in your bed while you were away.
ME: (realizing that this is not going to be easily resolved AND that I am problem solving via cell phone from another country) Ok then, you have two options. Number one, got to bed in your own room or number 2, watch the movie with the girls and fall asleep on the sofa. In case you guys haven't noticed, I am in Aruba.
HIM: Whatever mom. She can have your room. I HATE HER!! Click........
I didn't call back. I decided to let them work it out on their own. Call me a bad mother, call me a coward, call me crazy but I've had just about all I can take of the war of my children. Whether I am thousands of miles away or just down the hall-somehow they have to learn to work things out on their own. I hope and pray that they will become best friends someday. It's just that today I am waiting and wondering when and if someday will come.
Labels:
Family,
Kids,
My Kids,
Sibling Rivalry
Wednesday, October 1, 2008
Four boys and a harried mother: A day in the life of a mom just trying to do the right thing.
I should have known better when my 12 year old son asked me if I would drive him and three of his friends to the indoor skate park yesterday. They had the day off from school in honor of the Jewish New Year and "Absolutely," was my answer when he asked me. I told him we could go after I took his sister to her eye exam at 1:30. What I didn't bother to ask was were the skate park was. I assumed it was in the next town over from ours but you know the old saying about ASSuming. My bad, literally. When I arrived home at 3pm from the optometrist, I found the four boys in my driveway all geared up, riding their boards, anxiously awaiting my arrival. My son ran up to the door of my car and greeted me with,"OK mom, we're ready. Lets go!"
Imagine my surprise when just a few short moments later I learned that the skate park was not the same park they normally go to. No, this park was located almost an hour away. After I unsuccessfully tried to find every excuse not to make the trek out there, I reluctantly agreed to go.
"You didn't tell me it was an hour away," I argued.
"You didn't ask," he had me there.
"It will be closed by the time we arrive," I reasoned.
"No. It stays open till 9pm," I was told.
"You need to have signed release forms from your parents," I told them, after calling to confirm the fact. "You can't skate without them," I said triumphantly .
"We have all been there before and our forms are on file," I was again told.
After exhausting a few more options, I realized that I had no other choice. I said I would take them so take them I did. I packed up my computer and the four boys and we were off on our adventure. Little boys are funny creatures and I made some observations on our hour long ride:
1. They smell! Wow, these guys really stink. They had been playing football all morning and riding skateboards until I came home. Lets just say they were ripe!! And they think it's funny, being smelly.
2. No topic of conversation is off limits. They had all gone to a big, fancy party the weekend before and they rattled on and on about the girls, the "hook-ups", the dancing and the games they played without skipping a beat. They also will engage in the latest bit of gossip with little prodding.
3. They are uber competitive. I found their conversations about sports to be competitive in nature although they did compliment each other from time to time by exclaiming, "Dude, you were a beast on that play," or "You have some sick moves!"
At 4:30 we had arrived at our destination and the boys were more than ready. It was an awesome spectacle which was not lost on the two boys that were there for the first time. Amid the cries of "This is awesome", I completed the necessary paper work and off they went into the enormous, old warehouse with "half pipes" of every size scattered throughout. They even had a pit filled with foam that allowed daredevils to do tricks off their boards and safely land into it. My son was in heaven. I wisely brought my computer along so I was able to get some work done in the two hours I waited for them.
6:30pm-and I had to get their attention to let them know it was time to go. After about 5-10 minutes of them pretending not to see me waving, they came over and I bought them each a drink. We retreated to the car for the trip home. Again, the conversation swapped back and forth from competitive to complimentary, each extolling their own skateboard prowess. They smelled even worse than before, if that was possible, and had by now conned me into stopping at the drive-thru at Wendy's for a quick bite whereas it was their tradition. We laughed when the boys ordered kids meals and the burgers in them were no bigger than the palm of their hands. It was agreed that these boys were no longer in the kids meal category, that they had just graduated to the adult menu. While we were continuing our ride home the most amazing thing happened. Just as I was thinking about dropping each one of them safely at home and throwing my own, stinky son into the shower, I slyly got roped into a sleepover. I have to say, the kid who started it is good. He and my son played it to perfection.
He called his mom from my phone and mid-sentence he says to her,"Can I call you right back mom?" He then turns to the boys and says,"Do you guys want to have a sleepover?" Of course they all say yes, even though I am saying no over and over. After all it was a school night. The kid then says, "My mom will say no to my house but she'll say yes if we stay at yours." I was dumbfounded or just plain dumb because somehow my son and this kid talked me into the four-way sleepover. The four of them promised to take showers and be in bed by 10pm and agreed if they didn't comply with my rules that their parents would be called and they would be picked up immediately. It sounded innocent enough.
A few snippets from the evening:
9:30pm-I ask them to stop playing floor hockey in the bedroom. The delicate glass lighting fixtures and figurines on display directly beneath them had begun pinging and shaking from the constant banging on the floor above.
9:45-I hear laughing and screaming and things clanging on the floor above me. They were throwing things around jumping on the mattresses. Although they had already showered, they were sweaty and smelly yet again!
10:00-We set up the sleeping arrangements. At this point I am no longer in "the cool mom" mode and they are now in fart mode..need I say more.
10:15-After about three or four warning trips to the room, they complain that they are hot so I go in search of a fan. I reason that the "white noise" of a fan will magically lull them to sleep. Wrong.
10:40-I am now angry mom. I go to the room with every intention of driving them home and ending this now, when my son promises that they will go to sleep. I leave the room and sit outside the closed door ready to pounce at a moments notice.
10:42-All quiet.. wow sometimes threats really do work.
I woke them at 6:30 am the next morning with the joy of knowing I was an hour away from getting rid of all of them for the day. "Cool mom" had returned and I was even cooler when they realized that Lucky Charms was the breakfast of choice for the morning. The little ducklings went off to school without a hitch and I drove home wondering why I am so easily persuaded. I felt I had done the right thing for my son, but the big payoff was when I picked him up after school later that day and he said to me, "Mom, I wanted to thank you for yesterday. I had the best day. You're the best." It was all worth it. I now understand why I do it.
Imagine my surprise when just a few short moments later I learned that the skate park was not the same park they normally go to. No, this park was located almost an hour away. After I unsuccessfully tried to find every excuse not to make the trek out there, I reluctantly agreed to go.
"You didn't tell me it was an hour away," I argued.
"You didn't ask," he had me there.
"It will be closed by the time we arrive," I reasoned.
"No. It stays open till 9pm," I was told.
"You need to have signed release forms from your parents," I told them, after calling to confirm the fact. "You can't skate without them," I said triumphantly .
"We have all been there before and our forms are on file," I was again told.
After exhausting a few more options, I realized that I had no other choice. I said I would take them so take them I did. I packed up my computer and the four boys and we were off on our adventure. Little boys are funny creatures and I made some observations on our hour long ride:
1. They smell! Wow, these guys really stink. They had been playing football all morning and riding skateboards until I came home. Lets just say they were ripe!! And they think it's funny, being smelly.
2. No topic of conversation is off limits. They had all gone to a big, fancy party the weekend before and they rattled on and on about the girls, the "hook-ups", the dancing and the games they played without skipping a beat. They also will engage in the latest bit of gossip with little prodding.
3. They are uber competitive. I found their conversations about sports to be competitive in nature although they did compliment each other from time to time by exclaiming, "Dude, you were a beast on that play," or "You have some sick moves!"
At 4:30 we had arrived at our destination and the boys were more than ready. It was an awesome spectacle which was not lost on the two boys that were there for the first time. Amid the cries of "This is awesome", I completed the necessary paper work and off they went into the enormous, old warehouse with "half pipes" of every size scattered throughout. They even had a pit filled with foam that allowed daredevils to do tricks off their boards and safely land into it. My son was in heaven. I wisely brought my computer along so I was able to get some work done in the two hours I waited for them.
6:30pm-and I had to get their attention to let them know it was time to go. After about 5-10 minutes of them pretending not to see me waving, they came over and I bought them each a drink. We retreated to the car for the trip home. Again, the conversation swapped back and forth from competitive to complimentary, each extolling their own skateboard prowess. They smelled even worse than before, if that was possible, and had by now conned me into stopping at the drive-thru at Wendy's for a quick bite whereas it was their tradition. We laughed when the boys ordered kids meals and the burgers in them were no bigger than the palm of their hands. It was agreed that these boys were no longer in the kids meal category, that they had just graduated to the adult menu. While we were continuing our ride home the most amazing thing happened. Just as I was thinking about dropping each one of them safely at home and throwing my own, stinky son into the shower, I slyly got roped into a sleepover. I have to say, the kid who started it is good. He and my son played it to perfection.
He called his mom from my phone and mid-sentence he says to her,"Can I call you right back mom?" He then turns to the boys and says,"Do you guys want to have a sleepover?" Of course they all say yes, even though I am saying no over and over. After all it was a school night. The kid then says, "My mom will say no to my house but she'll say yes if we stay at yours." I was dumbfounded or just plain dumb because somehow my son and this kid talked me into the four-way sleepover. The four of them promised to take showers and be in bed by 10pm and agreed if they didn't comply with my rules that their parents would be called and they would be picked up immediately. It sounded innocent enough.
A few snippets from the evening:
9:30pm-I ask them to stop playing floor hockey in the bedroom. The delicate glass lighting fixtures and figurines on display directly beneath them had begun pinging and shaking from the constant banging on the floor above.
9:45-I hear laughing and screaming and things clanging on the floor above me. They were throwing things around jumping on the mattresses. Although they had already showered, they were sweaty and smelly yet again!
10:00-We set up the sleeping arrangements. At this point I am no longer in "the cool mom" mode and they are now in fart mode..need I say more.
10:15-After about three or four warning trips to the room, they complain that they are hot so I go in search of a fan. I reason that the "white noise" of a fan will magically lull them to sleep. Wrong.
10:40-I am now angry mom. I go to the room with every intention of driving them home and ending this now, when my son promises that they will go to sleep. I leave the room and sit outside the closed door ready to pounce at a moments notice.
10:42-All quiet.. wow sometimes threats really do work.
I woke them at 6:30 am the next morning with the joy of knowing I was an hour away from getting rid of all of them for the day. "Cool mom" had returned and I was even cooler when they realized that Lucky Charms was the breakfast of choice for the morning. The little ducklings went off to school without a hitch and I drove home wondering why I am so easily persuaded. I felt I had done the right thing for my son, but the big payoff was when I picked him up after school later that day and he said to me, "Mom, I wanted to thank you for yesterday. I had the best day. You're the best." It was all worth it. I now understand why I do it.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)











