Showing posts with label I'm Sick. Show all posts
Showing posts with label I'm Sick. Show all posts
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
I Have An Emergen-C
It's THAT time of year..
It's inevitable. The temperatures are changing which means that sure as sh*t-we are all gonna get sick. And sure as sh*t, Monday night, on my drive home from work I noticed I had sprouted a sore throat that wasn't letting up. Christ! I can't get sick this week! My store manager is on vacation which means I HAVE to be at work for the next 8 days-sick or not. I had to think fast. If gone unattended, this could be an emergency of epic proportions.
Did I just say emergency? I think I did and that is exactly what came to mind when I decided Mr. Cold was asking to come into my body from the cold. I had some Emergen-C at home and I knew this would be weapon of choice against the dastardly cold knocking at my door. I made the Emergen-C with hot water, because by now, not only is my throat sore but I am feeling a chill down to my bones.
It tasted good.
It made my throat feel better.
All of a sudden I wasn't so cold anymore.
The question was-did I kill the cold?
1000 mg of Vitamin C is no joke, (besides all the other sugar and crap that it is comprised of) and two days later I am still hitting the Emergen-C two times a day. But am I sick with a cold? A little.. slight congestion, sore throat gone...no fever and I'm up and feeling OK. I think it may have worked to shorten the duration of this cold. Hey! How about that?
I'm not taking any chances though. I figure a day or two more of this remedy, rest and taking it easy and we may not have an emergency on our hands.
Monday, June 10, 2013
Food Is My Poison
I'm so hot...
Am I sweating? Or is it just that I feel clammy? Either way, I need some water. I'm really thirsty.
Is the room spinning? Sh*t!, is it hot in here or what? I gotta get me a drink of water. But where?
Here in my head there is no relief. I can see the faucet, but I can't get to it. It's too far away. It seems like I'll never get there. How did this happen? My entire world is dry.
Oooh, my head is pounding, so I'll have to pretend I'm drinking water. I see the faucet and I try to turn it on with my mind. Ice cubes...I need it to be cold because my mind is hot. Yes, I can imagine the first refreshing gulps of the clear, crisp water quenching the thirst that surrounds me. There, that's better..
But not really. I'm still hot and my throat is dry. And whoa-I feel, like I'm sailing on a boat, and I don't like it very much. I'm weak and the boat is strong. I might hurl. No, I'm definitely going to hurl, but I can't move. Suddenly my legs are concrete and I'm thinking this can't be good. No this isn't good at all...somebody stop this ride, cuz I gotta get off the boat...and wow! it's hot in here! Did I already say that?
I think my brain is frying up in my skull. Can I just have a little water. Oooh no, the thought of that makes me more nauseous. I'm awake but I can't move. I'm dead weight, but I can feel the small beads of sweat running down the back of my neck. This isn't good. I don't feel good, at all and I know what's next. I gotta get up and get rid of it because it's wreaking havoc with me. Ok, ready? I'm going to do it.
I don't feel any better.
Even the water I just sipped didn't help. In fact, It made me feel worse. I think it's not happy to be joining us today. I think it's leaving too. It's only a matter of time. What the hell did I eat? How did this happen to me? I promise I'll be good if you take away this feeling. I'll do whatever you want, just make me feel normal again. I will feel normal again? Won't I?
I'm so thirsty. and Damn! It's really hot in here.
Labels:
Being Sick Sucks,
Food Poisoning,
Heatwave,
Hot,
Hot Mess,
I'm Sick,
Sick,
Water,
WTF
Friday, March 2, 2012
Ewwwww.

Dang! Like overnight I became sick. This is a different kind of sick than I have been in a while. I woke up yesterday with a migraine and fought it off all day. Around 3pm I started to feel a bit better, and after dinner I went to Frick's high school play. As I was sitting there I could feel myself getting feverish .I came home and went right to bed. I had a rough, sleepless night, fighting off bouts of nausea.
At the moment, I feel like I have been hit with a Mack truck and I feel very weak. I can't seem to get out of bed.
Anyway, I hope I get better fast. I got plans for the weekend.
I hope you have a great weekend bloggers! Stay healthy.
Labels:
Being Sick Sucks,
I'm Sick,
Sick,
Weekend
Monday, January 24, 2011
Hung Happens
So this was me yesterday.I spent the day on the sofa, nursing a slight hangover, but here's the thing, I don't really remember drinking enough to be feeling that way. I scanned my brain for a clue as to why my body just couldn't move like it should. Is this what happens when you get old?? It started out innocently enough.
We went over to a friends house and she had concocted a wonderful home brew of hooch. The homemade Margarita. Ahhh heavenly, going down, and we drank them from tiny Grappa glasses. It seemed very innocent. Surely two or three of these small aperitifs were fine for a buxom blonde like me to handle? Right? But I forgot to mention the lethal factor to this hangover equation. Patron.
AH yes, Mexican rage, and when it hits you you are doomed...BUT, after three of four tiny shots, we'll call them, of Margarita, we were off to the restaurant where I proceeded to have two more. One while we waited for the table and one at the table. Again, Candy was feeling so Dandy, she ordered the drinks by name brand, "Petron Margarita, please." All was well by most standards.
I was having such a good time that I didn't really notice that I didn't eat my dinner. It wasn't good, I remember that, and I know I ate some stuff at the table, but not enough to sustain said buxom blonde. I must have really been feeling good because I then drank some red wine with the dinner and you know how the waiter keeps filling the wine glass when you buy a bottle? Here's where I must have gotten into trouble.
I then ate the dessert. SUGAR. Now I know I'm drunk because, even thought I had just a few bites, I don't eat sugar and here I am imbibing and eating sugar. Still, I'm fine and when I get home I see the kids, talk for a bit, then retire to bed. ALL FINE. No bed spins, nausea, nothing just a drift off to slumber but when I woke up? My head felt like a 100 lb anvil.
And that's how I spent the day yesterday, horizontal on the sofa and feeling heavy. Now I know I have hit the liquor harder than that and survived before. What the hell made this one so bad?
My only consolation on yesterday's events? I watched the Steelers whomp the Jets ass..
So not a total loss.
Monday, October 4, 2010
Do You Believe This Crap?

I can't believe this crap, but I got sick this weekend, AGAIN!!! Only this time, it's a doozy.
I'm pretty sure it's the Flu. I came home from the ER on Saturday afternoon with my Kidney Stone patient and all I wanted to do was lay down. I was exhausted. My body felt like hundred pound sandbags were weighing it down. When I woke up, I decided to take my temperature because I had that warm feeling you get when you have a fever.
Sure enough, I had a fever of 102 degrees. And body aches in my lower body like I had worked out a big workout. This continued for the next day. I kept dreaming that my brain was cooking in my head because reality is...it probably was. My fever never dipped below 101 for two days despite eating Advil like candy and I could hardly get out of bed. To top it all off, I couldn't get a hold of my doctor's office so I just decided to die a valiant death on my own.
So last night the fever breaks and now I'm left with INTENSE stomach cramps, so bad I feel like I did something really wrong in my life to deserve this pain.
So what do you think the chances are that this is Swine Flu and the chances of my catching this in the ER the first time I was there???
Somebody, please put me outta my misery.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)

